Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok i boxed my friend into the corner with three chimera tanks.
4 flayed ones
With one tank
Looked like this:
Tank : Tank : :: Table edge
Tank-> Necrons ::
:::::::::::::::::::: Table Edge
Me Tank shocking -> to the right pushing them out.
What happens when he cannot move out of the way? He gets crushed doesnt he? or off table edge?
my friend just said they didnt die. and bsed through by saying there was space between the top right tank from the table edge, and somehow the flayed runs ran through.
hope im clear enough..
Last edited by Tyrael-RM; June 6th, 2005 at 03:54.
I recommend following this logic.. Dont worry about what should happen, think about what cannot happen
You cannot move off a board edge voluntarily, only as a result of a fallback move in general. Passing a tank shock test means you simply move out of the way, which is not a fallback move thus you cannot move off the board
Enemy units cannot move within 1" of an enemy unless charging or tank shocking and after a tank shock you cannot end up within 1". No result of tank shocking states that a unit that cannot move out of the way is distroyed therefore if there is no room to move the opposing models then the tank may only tank shock to a point where enemy models may move out of the way. THIS INCLUDES being placed *behind* the tank, which in this example would be the only place they could go
So my answer would be, the opposing necron models must be placed behind the chimera which is tank shocking because it is the only spot they may move to. It's wierd yes, but during a tank shock the models move to an empty area which is not within 1" of an opposing model and it doesnt matter how odd that place may be
Sounds about right. Did you run over all of them or just some of the models?
If you were looking to squish them all then they would all have to move so you'd follow Kirasu's example and scamper out the back of the tank.
If you only run over some of the models in the unit then they have to move the shortest distance out while maintaining unit coherency - so they'd have to move next to the ones that weren't run over, leaving them stuck in the corner still.
Once that's done they have to take morale check and may run off the table anyway.
my gaming club were discussing this and what happens if a 6' wide vdr creation tries to tank shock you.
kirasu is right. you'll just move out of the way as you can't fall back if you pass your ld test. therefore you'll move to behind the tank. (i suppose you may be able to move to the side if theres space). here's another question; you move to the nearest available space right?
I think if they pass their leadership test they would flufflwise, just go round the tank by leaving the board for a few secs. Units are lost when they fail their leadership test and run because they think they're scott free and they're to far gone for their commander to put some spine back into them. Whereas they warriors aren't running and plan to blast that chimera in the backside for trying to run them down.
Or I suppose they phase in and out very quickly to get behind the tank. :mellow:
... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..
I play mechanized Guard, and had this happen once against a friends Chosen Chaos Terminator guys! Except there were no table edges in the equation, I had him boxed in totally with Chimerae and my Hellhound. I declared a tank shock with one last Chimera to fill my 'parking formation' and squish all the Terminators. (It looked like this)
= is one of my Tanks
o is the Terminator squad
We looked at the situation, and mutually determined that if the Terminators passed their leadership, they'd be allowed a Death or Glory attempt, which if they failed, would be crushed and killed, because there'd be no place to go (citing the rule that enemy models may not move withn 1" on each other unless during a Tank Shock, or Assault, and that figuring that only the Tank Shocker may move within 1" and not the Tank Shockee), but if they somehow stopped the tank, they'd survive.
He passed his Leadership check, but failed to stop the vehicle with his Death or Glory. My opponent congratulated me on such a spectacular move, saying he never expected such a creative demise to his DeepStriking dealers o' death.
However, this was a friendly game between two mature players whose aim in playing is to have fun. Weird situations with no actual rules crop up in our games, and we can mutually decide what happens, even if it puts one player at a great loss, as it did in this situation. But I doubt this mentality or sense of sportsmanship would ever occur at a tournament, or between two players whose goal in 40k is to win win win.
Originally Posted by MobiusPrime
heh basically what i tried to do to the necron guy.. well thinking that they cant run off board? oh well we resolved the game as a tie -_-;; lol i just wanted to squish him grr haha.
I really recommend against using rules that do not exist by making up your own
Again I laid it out pretty clearly, I thought.. Its not about what you can do its what CANNOT happen
If a unit cannot flee, and cannot move then the tank itself cannot move but it can tank shock just it can't move
You can do whatever you want but i strongly advise AGAINST making wackass rules that have no basis in the game
I'll keep that in mind the next time we play Kirasu.