A question on psychic powers - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    36
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    -11 (x0)

    A question on psychic powers

    Can a psychic (more specificaly a farseer) use a power (more specificaly fortune) while he in engaged in combat?

    I know you cant use powers that replace shooting but can you use powers that dont?

    Last edited by rer of Athedon; June 11th, 2005 at 13:46.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    Yes he can, any pysker can.. So yes he can cast fortune in combat since Im assuming that's what you want to know

  4. #3
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Kirasu
    Yes he can, any pysker can.. So yes he can cast fortune in combat since Im assuming that's what you want to know
    Actually, that's wrong. As all psychic powers follow the rules for shooting unless otherwise stated (in BG. The farseer however can as 1. fortune is cast in the begining of turn, 2. states any unit near (not needing los) and 3. is not an instead of shooting type power.

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    Please read the CONTEXT in which the answer was given before saying Im wrong because you just stated exactly what I Just said

    He asked if the farseer can assumed it's NOT an instead of shooting attack

    I answered "yes any psyker can".. I didnt mean any pysker can use a power in h2h

  6. #5
    Pure Venom. Lordofchange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,306
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    88 (x3)

    I believe it changes depending on the context of the rules. Gift of Chaos, for example, is an "instead of shooting" power, but it states that it can be used while engaged in combat. Mind War, on the other hand, cannot, as it is an "instead of shooting" but there is nothing stating it can be used in combat. Just make up a checklist in your mind - can he shoot? Can he move? etc, and if any powers are "instead of moving" or "instead of shooting" and he can't do either, then he can't use them. But if it says "at the beginning of the turn then he can cast it as the beginning of the turn is always there, no matter whether the psyker is in combat or not.
    The only difference between tattooed people and non-tattooed people is that tattooed people are awesome and can kick your ass.
    "War does not determine who is right - only who is left."

    RAMROD ONE

  7. #6
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Kirasu
    Please read the CONTEXT in which the answer was given before saying Im wrong because you just stated exactly what I Just said

    He asked if the farseer can assumed it's NOT an instead of shooting attack

    I answered "yes any psyker can".. I didnt mean any pysker can use a power in h2h
    And as I stated, you were wrong. As you answered any psycher can, which is wrong. The context was a blanket statement. Had you said any farseer can, different matter all together, which is what I addressed later in the post. I did state that you were right about the farseer and fortune, but I will most certainly point out errors in a rules forum. Lord knows I've gleened bad beta before and am glad when people point me in the right direction. Sorry if it came across in a negative manner, not my intention.

    Also, to further elaborate, on the other post, keep in mind that ALL psychic powers follow the rules for shooting, unless noted otherwise. So if it says a model within 12", it doesn't declare the LOS rule void, meaning you do need LOS, but if it says ANY model in 18" then you're golden into and out of combat for that aspect of the casting. Many many more things to consider and can be answered if that's where the thread heads to.

    Again Kirasu, didn't mean to step on any toes, but the game is all about specifics and words. a farseer is indeed a psycher but a psycher may or may not be a farseer, one implies the other, just not a two way street.

  8. #7
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    Guess I gotta spell this out because I have nothing against being wrong, but this is a case of just not reading what I was commenting on

    Can a psychic (more specificaly a farseer) use a power (more specificaly fortune) while he in engaged in combat?
    I know you cant use powers that replace shooting but can you use powers that dont?
    Answered with

    Yes he can, any pysker can.. So yes he can cast fortune in combat since Im assuming that's what you want to know
    What that *means* is that ANY psyker can use a power in CC that is not a shooting attack which is true. It doesnt matter if its a farseer as a farseer follows all the same rules as every other pysker. Thus, 'Yes he can, any pysker can". In the context of what I was answering it was not wrong. Obviously if the answer was "any psyker can cast any powers while in combat" thats wrong, but that wasnt what I was answering

  9. #8
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Wow, after that I gotta really scowl and say wrong. The farseer can use most of his powers as they have special rules that negate the shooting rules (ie, any model, any squad, not a squad or a model). You still follow all the shooting rules, even if the power isn't instead of shooting, unless the power has special rules. Not trying to argue, but you really need to quit throwing blanket statements out like
    What that *means* is that ANY psyker can use a power in CC that is not a shooting attack which is true
    because it goes against the rules on page 52.

  10. #9
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    Kirasu is correct here. If it is a "replaces shooting" psychic power, such as Mind War or Storm of the Emperor's Wrath, then he may not cast it in combat.

    If it is cast in a different phase, such as Fortune or Veil of Time, then yes, he may cast it while in combat.
    All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.

  11. #10
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Anacron
    Kirasu is correct here. If it is a "replaces shooting" psychic power, such as Mind War or Storm of the Emperor's Wrath, then he may not cast it in combat.

    If it is cast in a different phase, such as Fortune or Veil of Time, then yes, he may cast it while in combat.
    Correct, as you cannot shoot out of cc, but you could use it to target a model in CC, as the reading of MW says any model in range. As to fortune, it could be argued that since it still follows the shooting rules, even though it happens at the begining of the turn, that you can't cast it in CC, since you can't "shoot" in CC. Not trying to get off topic, but again, refer to page 52 for the rules that ALL psychic powers must follow, and then check the rules for the psychic powers for how they make exceptions to those rules. Because Fortune says any model or unit in range, it does not need LOS, and it happens in the beginig of the turn, meaning you can FOF after using it, unlike MW which is one or the other, but it still couldn't be cast in CC.
    edit..
    as to veil of time, I don't play SM, so I don't have those listed in front of me.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts