Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If you're in the same cover as your target in shooting, does your opponent get the save?
Open your rulebook to page 25, paragraph 3, titled "When do models count as in cover?"
That should answer your question.
To simplify the rulebook explanation, if you are both in the same cover but there is cover in between each unit (not counting the cover in contact with the shooter) then yes. Examples of this include things like two units in the same forest, both units in the same junkyard, etc. You would not count the tree immediately next to the shooter, but if there are more trees in the way then the unit also gets cover.
What doesn't count is something like both units in the same trench or on the same side of a wall. Or if there is a wall in front of one unit but not the other. Then only the unit in contact with the cover, and the cover must be in the LOS of the shooter, gets cover saves from shooting.