Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
The rulebook is not very clear on this: lets say a scenario (like rescue on page 190) only allows Troops deployment on turn one. All the rest is put in reserve. Troops can be put in reserve as long as one unit is deployed.
Now, I want to deploy a troop choice in a Land Raider. Can I deploy it with the initial deployment (ie Troops and Land Raider), or do I have to keep the LR in reserve, and thus the Troops unit as well?
Second, if I have to keep them in reserve, how do I roll the reserve roll: If one come, the other automatically come OR if the Troops come the LR comes OR if the LR comes the Troops come OR I have to hope rolling both on the same turn?
From what I recall of the special missions: If you take the LR as a choice with the troops as a transport for that squad only, you make only one roll a turn and it comes on with them.
If its a seperate choice (I play GK so thats really more likely for me) You roll 2 dice and can no long choose to deploy a unit inside the LR.
Rude:"...". Turk of Legend,1/2 of the deadly duo Reno and Rude.
erm. if the landraider is heavy support and not a dedicated transport (ie is a separate choice on the force organisation chart) then it must be deployed separately.
so if you can only deploy troops then you cannot have the landraider on the board at the start. however if it was somehow a transport (not sure if this is actually possible) that you bought for your troop squad, and it doesn't take up a heavy support choice then you can deploy it at the same time.
you can however keep both troops and LR in reserve.
if you have 2 choices in reserve then they must both be rolled for and arrive separately. this means your troops cannot arrive inside the land raider. (unless its a dedicated transport)
Deployment rules can be found on page 81. Each slot on the force organisation chart is deployed separately and the Land Raider is a Heavy Support choice, not a dedicated transport like a Rhino or Razorback. In a normal mission you'd start with Heavy Support so you could deploy your LR and then when you get to Troops you could deploy your unit inside the vehicle. But since you're looking at a Rescue mission where you can only deploy Troops at the start of the game, you will have to hold the LR in reserve.
Not sure on the reserves rules concerning transports sorry, maybe someone else can shed some light on that for you.
Yeah you are really confusing the whole issue LandRaiders are heavy support choices and not dedicate tronsports. NOT EVEN A CRUSADER.
Having said that you are only allowed to deploy a troop choices, your marines and scouts and their transports. I'm almost certain this may seem odd as it is still a tank but those are the rules and they are at times odd. Like why wouldnt a guy behind cover get his save and the cover save he is still behind both. (Dont answer that question)
And when you roll you roll for each slot in the force orginization slot that has something in it (squad and transport, one slot one roll)
Hope that solves your problems without creating new ones.
Necorn Work In Progress Click Link
Terminator squads and T. Command Squads may take Land Raiders as dedicated transports. If they do then they roll for both as a single unit from reserves, or deploy together in other scenarios. Crusaders are not Land Raiders and may not be chosen as dedicated transports. (CodexM)Originally Posted by Deek
Thanks! That was what I'd figured, but you all made it clearer for me...