bikes, dreads, and termies? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    224
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    bikes, dreads, and termies?

    me and my friend both remember a rule that said that bikes dreadnaughts and terminators could fire at one target and assault another, in contrast to the normal shooting rules....but some people have said this is not the case with the new rules (maybe we're thinking of trial assault???) can anyone tell me diffinitively that those units can or cant shoot at one thing and assault another or give me a page number that has the rules one it?? thanks


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Corianis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Regional South Australia
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    112 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by beiltan2003
    me and my friend both remember a rule that said that bikes dreadnaughts and terminators could fire at one target and assault another, in contrast to the normal shooting rules....but some people have said this is not the case with the new rules (maybe we're thinking of trial assault???) can anyone tell me diffinitively that those units can or cant shoot at one thing and assault another or give me a page number that has the rules one it?? thanks
    Yeah, this is the Trial Assault rules from 3rd Edition. Bikes, Terminators, and Walkers have no special rules with regard to targeting. The only thing close is being able to fire Heavy and Rapid Fire weapons as if stationary and still assault. To the best of my knowledge, nothing can assault a different unit to the one shot at.
    ___
    Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
    Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom

  4. #3
    Member Oplopanax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Lewiston, ID
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    So Termies can fire their Heavy and Rapid fire weapons and still assault? Where is that clarification, please? I can't find it and it has been bothering me and my regular opponent for some time. The only thing I can find is where it says Termies can move and fire Heavy weapons, but nothing about rapid fire and nothing about assaulting after those.

  5. #4
    Member Khamal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    113
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Oplopanax
    So Termies can fire their Heavy and Rapid fire weapons and still assault? Where is that clarification, please? I can't find it and it has been bothering me and my regular opponent for some time. The only thing I can find is where it says Termies can move and fire Heavy weapons, but nothing about rapid fire and nothing about assaulting after those.

    here ya go buddy, yes terms can shoot heavy and assault.

    this is in my chaos codex under term armor. "chaos space marines in term armor are capable of moving and firing with heavy weapons thanks to the bulky exo-skeleton and powerful servos built into the armor.

    now on page36, declaring charges it says this in a note " some rare units always count as stationary when firing rapid fire weapons and some units move and fire heavy weapons. SUCH UNITS CAN CHARGE AFTER FIRING.

    ya its not posted under 1 thing so it can be tricky to find. but i hope this is clear for u.

  6. #5
    Member Oplopanax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Lewiston, ID
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Actually, yes, that helps a great deal, thank you! But, I still don't see where they can fire their rapid fire weapons, as I understand combi-bolters to be, and still charge. One could assume that if they can fire heavy weapons and charge then rapid fire weapons would not be a problem, but then we all know what happens when we assume. So if there is a rule out there that clears this up, too, please let me know so I can become less ignorant of one more thing.

  7. #6
    LO Zealot Corianis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Regional South Australia
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    112 (x4)

    Bikes: Rule Book, page 53
    Terminators and Heavy Weapons: Rule Book, page 36. Also Codex Marines, page 25 and Codex Chaos Space Marines, page 17.
    Terminators and Rapid Fire: I find no reference which allowes them to fire rapid fire weapons and assault. It may be present in the FAQ's, but I haven't looked there.
    Dread: Is a vehicle, and abides by the vehicle rule for moving and shooting. Heavy and Rapid Fire have no effect on wether a Dread can make an Assault move.
    ___
    Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
    Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom

  8. #7
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    Page 36 states that some rare units always count as stationary when firing rapid fire weapons and some can fire heavy weapons on the move. These such units can charge after doing either

    It's a common overlooked point in the chaos codex. By reading the rules in a vacuum no chaos terminators cannot charge. However when the Chaos codex was written you *could* charge after firing rapid fire weapons so there was no need to mention it. All terminators count as "stable platforms", thus they can charge after firing

    No you won't find the word "Stable platform" used, but it's just GW overlooking things. This doesn't affect Space marine terminators, only chaos

    As with Bikes, Tau battle suits and other such models they can fire all their weapons to the maximum range and assault if they so choose

    Good luck to anyone who tries to convince someone during a game they can't do that with their chaos terminators heh

  9. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Ohio, US
    Posts
    46
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    This isn't entirely on topic, but has been bothering me recently. If my units shoots at and destroys another unit can they charge someone else that turn, or is there turn effectively done at that point?

  10. #9
    Karrot Dialysis karantalsis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    Beeston
    Age
    33
    Posts
    1,321
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    116 (x4)

    To Kirasu, nowhere does it state that terminators count as stationary when firing, only that they can fire heavy weapons and charge afterwards, bikes and other things do count as stationary and therefore follow the rules you described, terminators don't. As this is about the letter of the law and not what we feel it should be terminators cannot fire rapid fire weapons and assault, they can however fire heavy weapons and assault. Personally I'd let anyone using them use their rapid fire weapons, but thats not the rule thats a personal opiniona nd thus a 'house rule' rules as written no rapid firing and assault for terminators.

    To Menthalas, no you can't charge something else even if you wipe a squad with shooting, stupid, but there you go.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts