Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, My friend deep struck his raiders, and ravenger,(can he even do that) and I remember seeing something on here that said Deep strikers dont come in the first round, something like they come on the second or third round, I told him this but he insisted that they came first round. WHAT ROUND DO DEEP STRIKERS COME IN?
Starting on turn 2 you roll to see if they come in. The required roll starts at 4 then decreases by 1 each turn.
Wrong, you are talking about reserves.Originally Posted by mojo666
No thats deepstike, see in the new rule book.
Deep strike works the same way, it even refers you to reserves for rolling.
Wow. A lot of one liners, but nothing that really clears this up for the guy asking.
Here's whats up:
Deep Strike: You start rolling for EACH unit that can deep strike on turn 2. On turn 2 you need a 4+ for each unit. This number decreases by one for each turn of the game, until you need a 2+. A roll of a 1 never succeeds, so it's possible to never make a deepstrike roll the whole game.
Reserves: You roll for reserves in the exact same manner as Deep Strike. However, reserves enter play from your board edge. (Unless you have a special rule like Space Wolf Scouts.)
It's best to think of Deep Strike simply as an alternate method of deploying units that are coming in from Reserves.
As stated above, Deep strike is *not* a reserve roll guys. Units that are deep striking are in RESERVE and you roll for RESERVES at the start of the turn
When they are available they enter *via* Deep Strike instead of moving on from the edge of the board
Indeed, it's turn 2 for both - most likely to allow the opposing player to get into a good enough position to fend off the DSing units
As for deepstriking his ravager and his raiders, if he can show you the relevant entries in the codex and then let him use it - if not then don't let him use them - at my local store, some guy was claiming that all skimmers can deepstrike - but it's only marine landspeeders that have that ability that i know of - although im not familiar with dark eldar rules.
The only difference between tattooed people and non-tattooed people is that tattooed people are awesome and can kick your ass.
"War does not determine who is right - only who is left."
There's a an upgrade for DE vehicles that allows them to Deep Strike.Originally Posted by Lordofchange