Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Eldar... The Eldar players at the Store I play at say this.
Does the Singing Spear still gets its x3 against the 'Lith? I look at the Necron FAQ... it states clearly to me at least... that its only unmodified STR and one d6 for penetration. That only the vindecare Assassins' turbo-penetration will work. So... if you toss that Spear at my Lith then... it pretty much can't do anything cause it will not get the x3.
Brightlance. Does this still get the Armor 12 for penetration rolls regardless if the actual armor is more than 12?
Next... Orcs. I am being told that some orc weapons still get full penetration against the 'Lith. I can't find that in the Orc FAQ or the Necron FAQ where it says that any orc weapons bypass the Living Metal rule.
Thanks in advance!
For the brightlance, it uses it as an example in the necron codex, so the monolith will get its normal armour.
I haven't read the Necron FAQ, but in the book, it doesn't say anything about strength, so I would think the singing spear still gets the x3.
Edit: I just read the necron faq, and it only says extra penetration is ignored, and it doesn't say anything about strength.
Can't help you with the ork thing, but I don't see why they would unless it specifically says, and you said you can't find anything about it.
Last edited by aufde; July 14th, 2005 at 18:21.
<-- that room over there in my avatar is full of people who think you are funny...BURN...
"There are some who call me...Tim?" - Tim the Enchanter
The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
Well, most of us belive that the Powah Klawz get the double strength, theres a thread about it already, and what I belive is that PK's do get their strength against the 'lith.
The Necron FAQ does say that...
When attacking a Monolith, extra penetration dice and doubling scores are much the same thing - don't count any bonus penetration of any sort against a Monoloth.
To me... that sounds like it will not get the x3 from the Singing Spear.
Singing spear works fine against a monolith.. it's tripling the users strength which has nothing to do with modifying armor penetration rolls. Brightlance obviously doesn't because the monoliths description very specifically states it doesnt
I sent the question into GDW... I will post the email when I get it back.
That's been done at least twice now and here's the fun part, We got different responses. So perhaps this time will confirm this (doubt it tho).
Dreams give us a vision of a world unlike any we have seen. They present us with a glimpse of a better life; a goal to aspire to, and in the face of insurmountable odds, they provide us with the power to overcome, to live on, and to succeed where we would have otherwise failed.
Thanks for your email. I hope that this is of help and if you have any problems please get in touch.
1 The tank buster bombs would only get the basic 1D6 armour penetration against the monolith rather than their 2D6. See page 21 of the necron codex. The singing spear however does not give the user extra penetration dice or modify the monoliths armour, it simply enhances the users strength so it would be unaffected by the rule for living metal. See page 35 of codex eldar.
The bright lance however will still need to roll against the monoliths full armour value of 14, it cannot modify the monoliths armour. See page 34 of codex eldar and page 21 of the necron codex.
2 The piece of wargear you refer to is called the gaze of flame rather than the gaze of death; however it would work on harlequin solitaires despite their spiritless special rule. The gaze of flame is described as even being effective against â€śdaemons and other such things which you would think were immune to such powersâ€?, see page 15 of codex necrons.
4, 5 Whether psychics are fearless or not they must take the moral test imposed by the pariahs psychic abomination rule and fall back if they fail, this applies to soulless solitaires as well. Nothing in the game of Warhammer 40000 is immune to the power of the pariahs. See page 17 of the necron codex.
6 The harlequin army is not a legal army and it is not a balanced or fair list. It is very unlikely that there will ever be another FAQ
Please include all previous email correspondence in your replies, or if you prefer, you can give us a ring on 0115 9140000 and we will be more than happy to answer any questions you may have.
Cheers, hear from you soon,
Games Workshop Hobby Specialist
Our Phone Lines are open from:
Monday - Saturday 9am - 9pm
Sunday 10am - 6pm
All rules answers unofficial until they appear in White Dwarf
The information in this e-mail is confidential and may be legally privileged
It is intended solely for the addressee. Access to this email by anyone else is unauthorised.
If you are not the intended recipient, and disclosure, copying, distribution or any action taken or omitted to be taken in reliance on it, is prohibited and may be unlawful.
The views expressed here are my own & do not represent of reflect the views or policies of Games Workshop UK.
Sent: 14 July 2005 20:48
To: Hobby Specialists (UK)
Subject: Couple of Questions...
â€¦that have come up in recent games I have played in.
1. Singing Spear and Orc Tank Busta Bombs versus the Monolithâ€™s Living Metal Rule. Do they ignore the Living Metal for the Monolith when attacking it? I canâ€™t find anything in either FAQ that says they can ignore the rule.
I understood it asâ€¦ only the Assassin penetrating shot was the only weapon that was the exception to the rule. The Rule beingâ€¦ that No additional penetration dice are rolled which also means no doubling of the weapons strength and weapons like the Bright Lance must hit the 14 Armor not the reduced rate.
2. The Blitz Attack (that Harlequin Solitaire have) versus the Gaze of Death; so if my Lord has the Gaze of Death up and the Solitaire uses its Blitz Attack when it charges. Does the Gaze of Death negate the bonus attacks?
4. The Spiritless ability of the Solitaire versus the Souless ability of the Pariahs. Ummâ€¦ which works and which one doesnâ€™t?
5. Pariahs against Psykers that are Fearless. Will the Pariahs Souless ability still affect Fearless Psykersâ€¦ meaning will they still fall back if they fail their leadership roll? Do they even have to make one if they are fearless?
6. Is there going to be a FAQ for the Harlequins for 4th Ed? Or did I miss the no more Harlequin Army rule J