Special Character on their own - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    Senior Member Seth the Dark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    On the Maiden world called "Earth"
    Age
    32
    Posts
    591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x2)

    Special Character on their own

    So how far does a special character has to be from a squad so they can't be hit.

    "They say the Darkness consumes you. They don't say what happens after It's done."

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member dymew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Age
    29
    Posts
    815
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    Define hit:

    If you mean shot at, then as long as there's a closer squad, the IC can't be targeted

    If you mean CC, then as long as he's not B2B of anything, he can't get hit
    Dreams give us a vision of a world unlike any we have seen. They present us with a glimpse of a better life; a goal to aspire to, and in the face of insurmountable odds, they provide us with the power to overcome, to live on, and to succeed where we would have otherwise failed.

  4. #3
    Senior Member Seth the Dark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    On the Maiden world called "Earth"
    Age
    32
    Posts
    591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x2)

    Oh okay. So if a squad is closer than the character, then the charaacter can't be hit right? Thanks.
    "They say the Darkness consumes you. They don't say what happens after It's done."

  5. #4
    Senior Member Tycho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    The Big Smoke, Australia
    Posts
    909
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x2)

    Yes he can but your opponent has to take a ld test in order to target him.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Age
    36
    Posts
    391
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Tycho
    Yes he can but your opponent has to take a ld test in order to target him.
    Page 51 of the BGB, 4th paragraph titled "Shooting at Characters". It says that Independent Characters that are not part of a unit can only be targeted if they are the closest unit to the firer. So passing a leadership test to target anything other than the closest unit will still not let you shoot at him if there is another unit that is closer. Dymew had it right.

  7. #6
    Son of LO Pierced53's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hertfordshire, UK
    Posts
    2,051
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    222 (x7)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lleu
    Page 51 of the BGB,
    BGB = ? :confused:

    thanks.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Nashville,TN
    Age
    27
    Posts
    393
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Big Grey Book , the forth edition rulebook. But not all special characters are independent characters. But most can be joined with a special squad of their own somehow someway.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Tycho's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    The Big Smoke, Australia
    Posts
    909
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    6 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lleu
    Page 51 of the BGB, 4th paragraph titled "Shooting at Characters". It says that Independent Characters that are not part of a unit can only be targeted if they are the closest unit to the firer. So passing a leadership test to target anything other than the closest unit will still not let you shoot at him if there is another unit that is closer. Dymew had it right.
    Yeah i realise that although as ZombieKiller said not all special charcters are ICs but yes if he is then what you say is true that he cant be targeted unless he is the closest target.
    Cheers,
    Tycho

  10. #9
    Senior Member Seth the Dark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    On the Maiden world called "Earth"
    Age
    32
    Posts
    591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x2)

    SO can Vehicles automatically shoot at since they don't have a LD to test against?
    "They say the Darkness consumes you. They don't say what happens after It's done."

  11. #10
    Son of LO tarzen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    3,023
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    121 (x8)

    Quote Originally Posted by Seth the Dark
    SO can Vehicles automatically shoot at since they don't have a LD to test against?
    No, as LD tests have absolutely nothing to do with it. If they are not the closest, you can't shoot them period.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts