Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I know that they aren't "thrown" in this edition but how are the used? For instance Fire Dragons have melta bombs, do I use them and the fire dragons' attacks or just the melta bombs?
"They say the Darkness consumes you. They don't say what happens after It's done."
See page 72 of the rulebook for using grenades against vehicles. Or page 39 for the rules on grenades and cover.
In a nutshell, you can make one attack with a grenade instead of your normal close combat attacks. For your melta bombs you roll to hit and if you do then you roll 2D6 and add their strength of 8 to work out armour penetration. Typically this will result in a puddle where the vehicle used to be.
To the best of my knowledge, grenades can only be used in the assault phase. Against Infantry, they usually effect initiative order (Blight Grenades and a Tyrannic War Veteran's krak grenades are the only one which damage infantry). Against Vehicles, they replace the models usual attacks, only allow one attack per model (no exceptions) may penetrate or glance as their own rules state (some give a high strength, some use a table, some have others).
Rules for the more widely available grenades are on page 39 of the rulebook. The race specific grenades have rules in the appropriate codex.
that's not true. frag grenades damage infantry.Originally Posted by Corianis
Fluff-wise, yes. Rules -wise no, Frags just make them "duck and cover," as it were.
Blight grenades have an effect, but it does not cause damage.Originally Posted by Corianis
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.