Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had a situation come up last night, and I'm not sure what the answer is. In one turn a unit of Kroot (I3) assaulted my Imperial Guard (I3) who were in cover. The IG got the I10 bonus for being in cover, and the result was a draw. On the next turn another Imperial Guard unit (I3) assaulted the Kroot unit who were still engaged. Do the kroot get the I10 bonus for being in cover? We assumed that they did, but that combat with the first squad was silmutaneous.
You were correct in that assumption
Dreams give us a vision of a world unlike any we have seen. They present us with a glimpse of a better life; a goal to aspire to, and in the face of insurmountable odds, they provide us with the power to overcome, to live on, and to succeed where we would have otherwise failed.
It rather depends on what the cover is, lets assume a linear obstacle (wall/fence/hedge) then classically, your IG get the advantage of the cover in the first turn but the kroot will be possitioned the other side of the wall, should another unit charge them, it will probably be from behind - so the wall is the other side of the Kroot fro mthe charging unit - hence no cover.
Agruably in any case cover does not apply for the second unit as it has ceased to apply despite the possition of the minis for the first unit in the second turn as they are actually "Milling about"(I think that is the rulebook quote) in combat.
The only occasion I supose where it could still apply is if the cover is derived not from a linear obstacle but difficult ground (big heap of rubble)
pman, following on from Cheredanine's post, can you please clarify what form the cover took?
It was a pile of rubble, that the original Imperial Guard and Kroot fit in to. So I think we played it correctly. Thanks for the replies everyone.
It wouldn't matter on the type of cover. The unit on the recieving end of the assault gains the benefit because they are able to take up advantageous positions in the cover, and are able to get off a few last minute shots. As both units are milling about by the second round of combat, they are both affected the same way. This is represented by neither side gaining the Initiative advantage.
Also, Page 39 of the rulebook. Second paragraph of COVER, last sentence.
Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom
I have always played the way Corianis suggests. I'd forgotten whether I had a good reason for doing it or not, so I refrained from posting. Glad to know the right of it.
As stated above, I10 is because the troops in cover have time to prepare when an enemy charges thus it only works on the first round
If you are already in CC you gain no benefit, it doesnt matter if someone else charges through cover since its not the first round