Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If say, a Wolf Lord, was given a Frost Axe, his strength would be increased to 5. If, too, he was then armed with a Powerfist, in combat, would his strength be doubled to 10? Or can you only use one strength Bonus at a time?
I think it's pretty clear that you get strength bonuses from weapons only when making attacks with them. So, since you can't make one attack with both the axe and the fist, you won't be able to stack their effects. You're either S:5 or S:8, not S:10.
The benifit, of course, is that you can use either option, and, I am pretty certain, even use some of your attacks in a given round with one option while other of your attacks in the same round with the other option (though I doubt you'd probably ever want to do this).
i don't agree.
under the listing : special close combat attacks on page 46 of the rulebook is stated that a powerfist doubles only the wearers basic strenght. and any additional bonus for special abilities are added afterwards, so his maximum strenght would be 9.
Does the Frost Axe raise the Basic Strength or does it have S5? I know for the DA Sword of Secrets, that it has S6 itself. The wielders S isn't modified.
Thus I think the S of such a weapon is only used when attacking with it. And I don't think that you can say, that you'll do some attacks with weapon A and the Rest wuth weapon B. Otherwise PF would be to hard on characters...
Yeah, I am confident that bonuses from weapons only apply when one is actually using the weapon. Since any given attack isn't made with both the power fist and the axe, you won't get the bonuses from both on any attack.
The rule Vindicator referrenced, I am pretty certain, will apply to things like Daemonic Strength, which will be applied after the power fist bonus (in accord with the standard mathematical order of operations). However, Daemonic strength is a bonus applied to all attacks regardless of with which weapon they are made--strength bonuses from weapons are not, however, ubiquitous in this manner.
Bean is quite right. In any one round of close combat you can only make your attacks with one weapon - you must choose between your Power Fist and Frost Axe so you cannot combine their effects. He will not get a strength bonus if he punches someone just because he is holding a Frost Axe in his other hand.
Special close combat attacks are noted on page 46 of the rulebook and it has an example of using a Power Axe and Power Fist on the same model (different I values).
yep. you only use one weapon at a time. so either your attacks are at initiative with S5 or they're at S8 I1. or i believe that you can allocate attacks between weapons and make say 3 frostblade attacks and 2 power fist attacks, though i'm not entirely sure about this. (can someone clear it up?).
remember you cannot combine weapon effects just because both weapons are on the model.
however if the wolf lord had a modifier to his strength (not another weapon) and was using a powerfist then his S would be doubled first then the modifier added on.
i can give an example from another army. a chaos aspiring champion takes a powerfist and daemonic strength. so to work out the strength of the attacks, you double the strength first, then add the bonus for d. strength.
in general in 40k you double first then add the modifier.
Okay, that has solved the problem. Thanks.
No, you cannot split your attacks between two weapons. In one round of close combat all attacks your character makes must be with the same weapon. In subsequent rounds he can opt to switch weapons though. E.G. charges into combat using his Frost Axe, then if he is still locked in combat in the next turn you could use your Power Fist instead.Originally Posted by TzarNikolai
but why can't you wield the frost blade in the power fist?
Pictures of the Smigs Army for your amusement....
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
"Crush your enemies, see them driven before you, and hear the lamentations of their women"
"JESUS SAVES! the rest of your models each take a wound."