Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok, I've run into a weird situation at the place where I happen to be stuck playing 40k games recently.
I have always played like this:
If a unit has models that are in CC then none of the models from that unit can shoot or be shot at, whether they are close enough to attack the enemy or not.
Recently I was ganged up on by about four people at this locale who all tell me the rules work differently. They say that if any model is outside of attack range (e.i. models that can't make attacks because they are not in btb contact or within 2" of models in btb), then these models are not considered to be in close combat and can be shot at.
I think this is total crap and I can find nothing in the BGB that supports their statements. I believe they are just angry and attempting to find an underhanded method of actually besting my White Scars in a game, which has thus far proven futile for them.
If anyone here is of a high enough level of GW augury, then perhaps they can consult with the astronomican and pass on a rules clarification to me.
page 44. you cannot shoot a unit that is locked in close combat. I think they are reffering to some experimental assault rules that were used before the current rule book. Those rules no longer apply....of course there could be some sort of chapter approved that I do not know about.
Yeah, they have a distorted recollection of the Trial Assault rules from way back when. Massively outdated.
Yes, I showed them that page, but then they started arguing the semantics of locked and engaged. I thought that models that were engaged meant that the unit was locked and couldn't be shot at.
I think they are suffering from "too damn many rules variations" syndrome, in which GW can't keep the rules the same for a whole edition. I think that maybe you COULD shoot at a non engaged model way back when, but not now.
No I think they suffer from sore losers syndrome.
"They say the Darkness consumes you. They don't say what happens after It's done."
I agree with Seth. the wording is quite clear. If any of the models in a unit are engaged, then the whole unit is deemed locked in combat. Any unit locked in combat is unable to be shot at, or to shoot itself.
Even in the extreme case of a 40 or 50 strong unit (Necron/Ork conglommerates, I think conscripts can be huge too) with only one model engaged, this is the case. Of course, keep in mind that if all of the engaged models are killed then the combat is over, and both units are free to shoot/be shot at.
Yep. I thought it was pretty clear too. Now I can go in there with the conviction that I was right, and that I didn't allow those bastards to cheat me out of victory. :rolleyes: