Land Raider Crusader's Hurricane bolters - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Member Commander NoOne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Born and BLEED in the USA
    Age
    32
    Posts
    212
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    Land Raider Crusader's Hurricane bolters

    Hi guys. I thought I would post this here because i get diffirent answers from every one ive asked and I couldn't find it on the Librarium search. So here it is..

    If a vehicle has a rapid fire wepon on it ( like the Land Raider Crusader) can it fire at full range when it moves or just rapid fire range of 12"?

    The reason im asking is in the INDEX ASTARTES 2, where they have the black templars rules, it states that the LRC can fire its 'hurricane bolters, regardless of how far it has moved or what other weapons it is firing'. Yet this is left out of the new Space Marine codex.

    Thank you
    ~~~~No1 :cool:

    The guilty laugh while the innocent suffer.............WELL WHO'S LAUGHING NOW!!!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member InquisitorMarcus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    San Jose, CA
    Age
    28
    Posts
    438
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    9 (x1)

    last tim I checked the hurriane bolters were defensive weapons and you could always fire them as though you were stationary.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Age
    31
    Posts
    771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    -61 (x0)

    Rapid fire weapons firing from vehicles can always fire out to their full range (when they can fire at all). Vehicles, essentially, do not count as moving for the purposes of firing weapons--instead, how far they move detirmines how many weapons they can fire.

    A land raider crusader--Black Templar operated or otherwise (new Space Marine codex over-rides the Black Templar codex in this)--can fire all of its weapons if it moves six inches or less (or stands still). If it moves over six inches, it can't fire anything.

    The rule is that a non-fast vehicle movingn six inches or less can fire one main weapon and all defensive weapons, while a main weapon is anything with strength seven or greater and a defensive weapon is anything of strength six or less.

  5. #4
    Member grand master's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    The Medusa System
    Age
    24
    Posts
    236
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    5 (x1)

    Alright, but what about the Daemonhunters crusaders? They state that you can always move up to 12" and fire.

  6. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Age
    31
    Posts
    771
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    -61 (x0)

    Why would the Daemon Hunter Land Raider be treated any differently from the Black Templar one? Both entries have effectively been overwritten by the one in the new Space Marine codex.

    Look on the bright side, though; if the hurricaine bolters on the older Crusader entries could still fire after the tank moving 12", their assault cannons would still be heavy 3 without rending and with the possibility of jamming. I think I'd take that tradeoff most times.

  7. #6
    Member Oplopanax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Lewiston, ID
    Posts
    91
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    3 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Bean
    A land raider crusader--Black Templar operated or otherwise (new Space Marine codex over-rides the Black Templar codex in this)--can fire all of its weapons if it moves six inches or less (or stands still). If it moves over six inches, it can't fire anything.

    As I recall, the Land Raider Crusader has a special rule that says something along the lines of that it can fire the hurricane bolters no matter how far it has moved. I don't have my codex in front of me, but I could swear it says something very similar to that. Or I have been making it up this whole time!

  8. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    I think you saw that in the chapter approved of either 2003-2004 (can't think of which it'd be but it's one of them). I don't think these still apply though because now they are the same points as in codex:space marines and have all the same rules etc...

  9. #8
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    Read the current SM codex. All of these arguments are pretty silly as they come from outdated rules

    You always use the newest version of rules, which means you use the new crusader which is in the SM codex. Yes it sucks, but it's how it is

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts