Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Now these three questions raise a bit of controversy at my gaming club, mostly because we have tau players that would abuse this (not that it really changes much), but...
1- Can a modle with a large base (not monstrous though) join a unit of men with a smaller base? (Say, an orc nob join a unit of boyz)
2- If not, since you can make bases bigger (as of page 6 in the rulebook), can you make the unit's bases into large bases so that the character is not equal sized and can join them?
3- Do targeting rules that untis have also apply to characters that have joined them. For example, if an Inquisitor joins a grey knight unit, does he also benefit from the Shrouding, since the unit is the target of the shooting, not the character? (And does the same apply to a Crisis Suit Commander that has joined a unit of Stealthsuits?). The way we figure it, as long as majority is on the side of the unit and not the character, then yes it is fine.
The debate started when a Shas'o joined a unit of stealthsuits in a game, two outcomes were created. The first is that the stealthsuits invisibility was nullified by the shas'o joining the unit (as its hard to hide when you not all of you are hiding), so the enemy shot at it with the heavy damage squad and destroyed the stealthsuits and shas'o, but the squad was 30 inches away and in the second outcome they couldn't actually "see" the unit to shoot it, thus allowing the shas'o to destroy the objective (the stealthsuits couldn't do any damage, but the shas'o ignored the armor and finished it off). This arguement is win-or-loss to the players, and though it was a casual game, they want to know who really won.
1-size of base has absolutely nothing to do with an IC joining a squad/unit. Even a MC can join a squad of size one units on small bases, or swarms for that matter.Originally Posted by Aristone
2-you can model them to larger bases if you wish, but there is no practical reason for it.
3-as per page 50 of the BGB. special abilities are not conferred by joining a unit, for the IC or the unit, unless stated so in the rules for the unit/IC (wraithguard make a warlock fearless, but an avatar losses his fearless if he joins guardians). So, in the case of the inquisitor, since he is not a grey knight, the unit would indeed lose the ability of the shrouding. Think of it as the rules for movement-only as good as your weakest link. If you have a guy that sticks out like a sore thumb, then you tend to draw a bunch of attention to the whole squad. Not necessarily the most common sense approach, but GW hasn't been too good about that since second ed went away. Hope this helps.