Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Hey, I was just wondering about the hole on blast weapons.
Does it have to be right in the maddle of a base, anywhere on the base but still completely on the base, or just touching a base, so the edge of the hole could be on the edge of a base? Please help me!
And also, for monstrous creatures, or models with big bases, does the model targeted have to be completely covered by the blast/large blast? Please help!
The Rulebook doesn't exactly clarify point 1, just that the model must be under the hole. I read it to mean that the blast marker hole must be completely over the base of the target model but doesn't have to be centered.
As for point 2, if a base is completely covered it is an automatic hit but if they're only partially covered then you have to roll a 4+ to hit them. It doesn't differentiate between different size bases.
Hmm, that's a great point. I have always centered the hole, but I like the idea of simply placing it on the base somewhere. That allows much finer placement and more options.
These stupid blast templates are always a cause of arguments for placement.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.
the rules dont say that you HAVE to center it, it just something that everybody agrees on.
so I guess it has to be centered. unless the players agree on having the hole anywhere on the base.
The quick-reference pages in the back of the rulebook say that it should be centered on the base. So there ya go.
thank you and good night
The main rules supercede the "quick-referrence" rules.. As they are the main rules
No one really knows what GW intended because they wont even clarify the simplest of rulebook questions
However, centering it on the base of the model would make blast weapons even more useless than they already are.. Against 40mm bases you'd virtually never hit more than 1 model
The main rules only supercede the quick-referrence rules if there if they exist, and as there arn't any main rules about the issue, the quick-referrence is used, because it is the only GW-approved answear we have.Originally Posted by Kirasu
How in the world do you come to the conclusion that the quick referrence is an answer? It was printed *with* the main rulebook.. It's not an errata
Why would a summary be considered the truth over the larger text? That makes no sense Im afraid. The main rules are what should always be used, the quick referrence is there to be a quick referrence and does not override the larger text
Even reading the QR sheet, the hole is centered on a model. OK the the center of the hole is on the base of a model, not necessarily the center of the base but the blast IS centered on a base. That fulfills the intent and the letter of the rule.
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
At my local gaming club players always place the center of the hole over the targetted model's head - unless, of course, the model is leaning forward or something - so generally the middle of the base. Any Models' base that is even slightly under the template we consider partials.
Hope this helps.