Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
heya, i always play my necron player friend but this isnt just for necrons although ill use a necron example.
when he vails in with his lord he takes a unit with him but doesnt make it join to his lord. then he places all the bases of his warriors around the lord. when it comes to my turn i know i cannot shoot the lord because their are warriors within 6 inch infront. he then claims i cannot assualt the lord because i cannot fit the base of my men with the base of his lord. So if thats true you can also just take a cheap squad or 2 and make a a few rings around your HQ base to base and nothing can ever shoot or attack your Hq or any unit your protecting in their?
Actually, as an IG player, I prefer when Necron Lords stay close to units, yet remain unattached to them. That way, I can take some warriors out and still put a wound on the Lord with my battle cannons.Originally Posted by Khamal
Anyway, even if the Lord was a part of the unit, you would have to be in b2b to hit him in cc, and you'd have to kill every other necron in the squad to wound him with shooting. Your friend surely thinks he's being very clever but, if you can use template weapons wisely, all he's doing is opening up a chance to hurt the big boss and gaining no advantage from it.
as far as I know, and I'm no rulemaster, you CAN shoot the lord it just requires a leadership test to shoot on someone who isn't the nearest target, you just have to roll 2D6's and score a sum lower that the leadship of the unit you want to shoot the lord with
I dont care if i can shoot the lord or not.. i care about going into h2h with it. when he vails in i always have a unit that can h2h it but i can only h2h the warriors.. if i could h2h the lord i would ruin him. thats what im asking.
Your freind is right. IC cannot be targeted if they are in 6" of a unit (forget about the leadership thing, it's not true for this case) unless their the closest target. In CC, ICs become a seperate unit, so you must reach B2B with him in order to fight him. So, if he is tottaly surounded by other troops you just cant attack him, and he can't attack you.
Actually, the 6" rule is gone - IC may only be shot if they are the closest target, that's it. So basically if you gun down one half of the Necron circle, and then move a unit closer to the lord than the unit, then you can shoot the lord. As for assaulting it, just get a unit with a few assault weapons or pistols and make a small hole in the Necron circle - then you can charge a few models through the hole, as they can get through, and then charge the rest into the Necrons. That way you can just pick the unit apart in combat.
The only difference between tattooed people and non-tattooed people is that tattooed people are awesome and can kick your ass.
"War does not determine who is right - only who is left."
lordofchange thats a good idea but when the necron dies he lays flat down until next turn for his well be back and my friend says unless u can still make your model stand ontop of my laying down ones without moving anything you cant.. lol its impossible to make my models fit in their even if all the warriors are dead because there is too many dead necron bodies around it still. now if u can help me with that problem lol i would be happy
If you have high powered weapons you just insta-kill them then they won't be back or simply ignore their save, as far as I remember that remove the WBB rule too