Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
hey just a small question i have to ask, a friend and i noticed that in the 40k rulebook it says under the character section, "Characters that are not part of a unit can only be chosen as targets if they are the closest target to the firer." But aren't vehicles allowed to shoot at any target they choose? For example a predator wants to fire at a wolf lord in which case the wolf lord is not the closest to the predetor, (the wolf lord is alone) can the predetor fire at the wolf lord??!?! i know i may have said this in a confusing mannor so if anyone could please help me i would appreciate it!! thanks
Heh, I think your friend asked this question here already.
The short answer is No, the vehicle can not always shoot the Wolf Lord.
Vehicles do not have to take leadership tests to shoot at targets which are not the closest--this is the extent of their ability to ignore targeting restrictions.
Nothing short of a unit with the Marksman ability (or something similar) will be able to shoot an IC which is not the closest unit.
He doesn't have to be the closest unit, just the closest target. So if all enemy units that are closer than the IC happen to be engaged in close combat or falling back then they can be ignored for the purposes of target selection, potentially making the IC the closest target.
It's not a likely scenario but it is possible.