Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
At a recent game my tau friend was wondering if he could shoot one unit of stormies and charge another. We agreed that you have to assault the unit you shoot at, but I've heard from some people that units that count as stationary for rapid fire/heavy weapons (like his crisis suits) can shoot one unit and assault another.
Is that true? Can termies shoot one unit and assault another? Bikes? Crisis suits? and so on.
Short answer: No.
If you shoot at a unit, the only unit you can then assault in the same round is the unit you shot.
Bean is 100% correct here. While there are some units who may split fire, you must still assault the primary target. And most everything that can split fire is heavy weaponed, you can't assault anyways.Originally Posted by Beannope, not true. while some can move and fire heavy weapons (termies, and crisis), or fire and assault (termies again, and bikes), nothing can shoot at one squad and assault another.Is that true? Can termies shoot one unit and assault another? Bikes? Crisis suits? and so on.
see BGB p 36, where it says that if the unit fired in the shooting phase it must first engage that unit.
Note: You may assault multiple units though. While you must follow the rules on p 37, you could conceivably assault several units after shooting, just so long as you didn't wipe that unit out completely in the shooting phase.
Last edited by tarzen; August 1st, 2005 at 05:35.
So if you shot at a unit and wipe them out can you then assault another? or is your ability to assault over?
Your ability to assault is over (for the round).
Again with the 100% correct answer. If the unit is destroyed by shooting, you may not assault another squad, since you haven't met the first condition of assaulting-being to engage the unit you fired at.Originally Posted by Bean
Not excactly right if a suit buy the target lock upgrade it can split is fire on diferent target which menas that it actually can spilt it 3 missilles from the missile pods into shooting at three diferrent units, that will also make it possible for it to assault another squard as it has shooting atOriginally Posted by tarzen
But you cannot rapid fire and assault, that is the difference between assault weapons and rapid fire weapons, you can't shoot and assault with a rapid fire weapon
I don't have my Tau book with me, so I can't verify, but I don't think that's right Arakiaz. Target lock does let you fire at different targets with seperate guns, but I think you are still only allowed to charge units you shot at. In the case of target lock, this would just mean you can charge any of the targets you shot at.
Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!
-Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.
First problem is that a Missile pod only fires 2 shots. Second problem is that Target lock does not allow a single model to fire on more than one unit in a turn. The model so equipped doesn't have to fire at the same unit that the rest of his unit is firing at, but all his shots must be directed at a single unit. If two models in a unit are equipped with a target lock then the unit may fire on 3 separate units and they are able to assault any one of those 3 units in the assault phase, though if you want to really get technical about it, they could only charge the unit that the model without the target lock fired on as that was the unit that the unit of suits technically fired on. The target lock equipped models fired at a different target from the unit.Originally Posted by ArakiazTau Crisis and Broadside suits can. Bikes can.But you cannot rapid fire and assault, that is the difference between assault weapons and rapid fire weapons, you can't shoot and assault with a rapid fire weapon
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
Sorry for me being wrong with the MP I haven't the codex on me when I wrote it. And for the Target Lock I've been told by several LO users that I actually could split the fire, I thought it sounded silly but I belived them since the are much more experienced than me, but if you say I can't which IMO sounds logic then I will go with that