Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Here's a question to ponder on.
If a SM librarian has a familiar, he could alocate shooting hits to it. But in CC can he take the familiar off if I've allocated attacks to the librarian himself?
I say no, but sometimes I read by gestalt and miss some technicalities.
An independent character always fights close combat on his own. Against enemy shooting I believe you would treat the Librarian and Familiar as a unit so hits would be shared.
No, the Librarian and familiar do not form a unit.. It makes no mention of that in the SM codex and also specifically says the familiar takes up no room in a transport which is distinctly different from other followers such as ones in C:CSM and CW
They cannot be removed as casualties unless hit by some sort of indirect fire (although this is not very clear).. They cannot be targeted seperately and thus are not able to be killed in close combat
Thanks Kirasu, wasn't sure on this one.
Although the Codex does say they can attack with the Librarian and they do have a single close combat weapon. So they may be allowed to get into close combat in which case they could become a casualty?
Familiars count as as part of a Librarian's retinue, although he can still join another unit. In figuring out who gets wounded, find the majority armor save, if the Librarian has joined a unit of Terminators, this will be 2+. Only when there is just the Librarian left (assuming you gave him either termie armor or artificer armor) will the familiar's save become the majority. The next time you are hit by a weapon, either in cc or shooting, he takes the wound and save (if applicable)
In ordanace blasts, however, all the models hit are affected and have to take saves as normal. (as usual)
1500 years ago everybody knew the Earth was the center of the Universe
500 years ago everybody knew the world was flat
5 minutes ago you knew humans were alone on the planet
Imagine what you'll know tomorrow
There is absolutely nothing in the rules that states that.. Please, read the familiar rules in coded: Sm.. It is VERY different from every other codex and there is a reason I actually looked it up and posted what it said
As for close combat, i suppose they fight as seperate units but when attacking the librarium you may not put wounds on the familiar.. Otherwise the familiar cannot be targeted nor assigned wounds