IG Leman Russ Battlecannon Drift? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    6
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    IG Leman Russ Battlecannon Drift?

    does the battlecannon on the leman russ MBT drift when it is fired? i thought this strange when i played yetsreday. if any one can clear this up for it'd be greatly appreciated


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    569
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x2)

    It is Ordnance which is described in the main rulebook on page 29.
    Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    In a magical little place called 'Hanford', where little elves fly about the hazy air
    Posts
    507
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    26 (x0)

    It's ordanance, right? Ordanance scatters, right? Youve read the rulebook, right? So now you know, right?

  5. #4
    Dawn Under Heaven Triumph Of Man's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    MIA
    Age
    26
    Posts
    2,971
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    -170 (x0)

    Don't forget you DO NOT roll to hit with ordonance weapons. You roll to scatter or "drift" as you call it instead. God knows I spent a year rolling to hit with my battlecannons, D'oh! :lol:


    Karmoon
    ... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..

  6. #5
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    Two very common mistakes with ordnance are

    1) How many dice do you roll along with scatter .. and
    2) does it cause pinning?

    Here are dr kirasu's easy tips

    1) If the target is in LINE OF SIGHT and you did not move you roll 1d6 + scatter.. EVERYOTHER time you roll 2d6
    2) *only* indirect fire causes pinning.. So to the thousands who think their leman russ causes pinning are wrong.. Again, indirect fire causes pinning *not* ordnance.. You merely get a bonus if you're ordnance

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Age
    36
    Posts
    391
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Kirasu
    1) If the target is in LINE OF SIGHT and you did not move you roll 1d6 + scatter.. EVERYOTHER time you roll 2d6
    ... and take the highest. Another common mistake with Scatter rolls.

  8. #7
    LO Zealot Addoran's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Liverpool, England
    Age
    32
    Posts
    1,919
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    107 (x5)

    ...the only possible exception being in a Nightfight. In which case you do add 2 D6 together for scatter.

    Edit - I just read re-read the lines after this, and having no memory of writing them, removed them due to their probably being incorrect (I have no idea where in my head they came from). If you read them already, ignore due to the high probability of me talking out my arse.
    Last edited by Addoran; August 9th, 2005 at 16:47.

  9. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Scotch Plains, NJ, USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Lleu
    ... and take the highest. Another common mistake with Scatter rolls.
    I believe this is incorrect: If the vehicle does not move the shot scatters 1D6, if the vehicle moved the shot scatters 2D6. The dice are added together so if you move the shot can scatter 12". I hope I have not been doing this wrong all this time.

    Ordinance cannot be fired if you move unless specified differently for the vehicle.
    I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.

  10. #9
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    Please update your rulebook to 4th edition

    They are not added together, and you may fire ordnance on the move with any vehicle (Not ordnance barrage tho)

  11. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Scotch Plains, NJ, USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    Excuse me for confusing my 3rd and 4th edition rules (which I do own BTW) and posting in error.
    I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts