Question about strategy rating - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member Terzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    313
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    Question about strategy rating

    Is the only time it comes into use when you roll a 6 for what mission is played? We've played it for ages as you get the strategy rating as a bonus to your roll for first turn, but after scouring through the rulebook I've found nothing to suggest that is the case. In fact, it seems that strategy ratings are nearly worthless.

    What's the point of them? All I can say is tau first turn against gk=major hurt


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Kirasu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,521
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    47 (x4)

    strategy rating is used primarily in GTs.. In GTs you use your strategy rating when rolling to see which board edge you get and to see who goes first

    In standard missions is it pretty useless yes

  4. #3
    Senior Member Terzo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    313
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    10 (x1)

    So why do GT's use it for determining who goes first, when that's not the standard rule?

  5. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    569
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x2)

    The GTs and RTTs use a bunch of different scenarios that aren't in the rulebook and the the rules for those scenarios call for the use of the Strategy rating. You strategy rating is the number of dice you roll for deciding board edge and first turn in the tourneys usually.
    Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Seth the Dark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    On the Maiden world called "Earth"
    Age
    32
    Posts
    591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x2)

    Since when do you use your strategy rating to determine which board edge you use?
    "They say the Darkness consumes you. They don't say what happens after It's done."

  7. #6
    Xuy
    Xuy is offline
    Member Xuy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    UK
    Age
    25
    Posts
    234
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x1)

    Quote Originally Posted by Seth the Dark
    Since when do you use your strategy rating to determine which board edge you use?
    Seconded. Where does it say that?
    A billion chinese can't be wrong - eat rice.

  8. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    569
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    16 (x2)

    If you read my post you would see that it is specified in the particular scenario. The scenarios in the book don't include it but a lot of the special ones used for the GTs and RTTs do.
    Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.

  9. #8
    Senior Member Seth the Dark's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    On the Maiden world called "Earth"
    Age
    32
    Posts
    591
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x2)

    Ok then. I always use the strategy ratings to determine which mission I use but the board edge one is a good idea.
    "They say the Darkness consumes you. They don't say what happens after It's done."

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts