Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Please excuse if this is dumb question. But I'm new to the game, and I've been poring over the rules and FAQs, and asking my friends with whom I will shortly be playing 40K, all in trying to find clarification for:
What happens when you assault a vehicle with your troops?
The rules are clear that, when you shoot at a vehicle, you roll a D6 and add your weapon's strength. If you at least equal the armour value of the vehicle side you struck, you may inflict some damage.
There appear to be a few select close combat weapons that specifically mention vehicles and how it may be possible to rip through vehicle armour with them.
But, in the general sense, there is no mention whatsoever about what happens when your trooper attacks a vehicle in close combat. Do you get to add a D6 to your strength? Or don't you? Do Power Weapons allow you to bust through vehicle armour?
It's important because I intend to play Daemonhunters, and my Grey Knights will all have a minimum attack strength of 6 due to their standard Nemesis Force weapons. And my Justicars and Brother-Captains and Grand Masters will have an effective strength of 10 because their NF weapons also count as Power Weapons. On the face of it, it looks I should have at least some chance to destroy most vehicles simply by assaulting them in close combat.
BBB, pages 70-73 detail how to work out vehicles in assault.What happens when you assault a vehicle with your troops?Power weapons have no additional effect on things with an AV, so they're still just S6. Chainfists & Hammer-type weapons are the ones that usually give you extra penetration, but even they don't raise S to 10.And my Justicars and Brother-Captains and Grand Masters will have an effective strength of 10 because their NF weapons also count as Power Weapons.
THANKS for the reference to pages 70-73 in the rules. Sorry to bother you. I don't know how I and all my gaming buddies managed to miss it. I think we did read it all, but, uh, there's only so much our brains can process in one go, I suppose. Need to play some!
And thank you for the clarification of power weapons. They don't (necessarily) increase your strength, but they invariably ignore armour saves.