Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can I give my Exarch the Stealth skill while still having a Wave Serpent assigned to them? What I mean is if the scenario allows Infiltration, can I leave their Wave Serpent in the Deployment zone but still infilitrate?
"They say the Darkness consumes you. They don't say what happens after It's done."
I am not an Eldar expert as I have only fought them, but here's my $0.02.
All of the models in a unit must have the infiltrate ability for the unit to infiltrate. Giving it to the Exarch won't work unless every model in the unit he is attached to has the ability as well. I do not know if there are special rules for this in the Eldar codex.
I do not believe that a unit must be deployed IN their transport, but they are deployed at the same time. This brings to light the problem of deploying a tank when infiltrating.
I think that if the tank was bought as a transport for the unit then they will lose their ability to infiltrate as tanks cannot infiltrate. The infiltration rules indicate that every model in the unit must have it to be able to infiltrate. Since the transport can't have the ability the unit cannot use it.
There are a bunch of cases where something similar to this can happen when joining units together.
But this is just my opinion.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.
If a unit has a transport, it loses it's ability to infiltrate. However if the scenario involves a reserves roll, you can choose to roll for the transports together or on two seperate dice.
Last edited by Addoran; September 7th, 2005 at 20:58.
Incorrect, A striking scorpion unit with stealth MAY have a transport
Striking scorpions do not have the infiltration ability, however with the stealth ability they may infiltrate if the mission allows it
Thus they are not bound by the transport restriction, nor are they bound to the rule that the entire unit must posses the skill.. Remember, there are older codexs that don't follow all the same rules
The transport should be placed during troop deployment, however the only logical way is during the infiltration stage.. The transport however, may not be placed outside of its deployment area
Last edited by Kirasu; September 7th, 2005 at 20:42.
Ah, I didn't realise they had a variant rule from the BBB.
Yeah there isn't much to add to this, just a clarification in the rulebook that says troops don't hve to deploy inside their transport vehicle, if they don't, the vehicle has to deploy at the same time as the squad, but it can't infiltrate, unlike the squad (if they have stealth)Originally Posted by Kirasu
"Ah.. i'm almost done with these 3rd quater spreadsheets and still no sign of.."
"What, is up, my dog?"
"Ughhh I'm not your dog"
"Waterman, you crack me up! that's why you're my D-O-G-E"
"Your Doge? What are you talking about? I'm Strong Bad Waterman works in retial shipping resources"
"Ah-ha Good one waterman, I mean good one MY DOG"
I was just working from the rulebook statement:
"If a unit with this ability is equipped with a transport vehicle, it loses the infiltrate ability"
i'm going to go with no.
-a unit and its transport have to be set up at the same time. (though not necessarily same place)
-infiltrators are set up after everyone else.
-but transports can't be left like that and have to set up with whatever FOC slot they take up (troops, elites whatever)
-so basically the transport stops them being set up afterwards.
while i don't think there's a restriction on taking stealth you do stop being able to use it by taking a transport.
frankly i can't see why you'd want the extra serpent, not as survivable as a falcon, doesn't count as a scoring unit. etc.
It was a good tactic back when wave serpents were useful.. There is still no restriction on using stealth and taking a transport
Granted it doesnt say *how* you actually deploy the transport, but it doesnt say they cant take it
I used to take wave serpents just because they could be semi-useful back in 3rd edition.. It moves up, and if you need it then the scorpions can hop inside. Basically you used it so if it got destroyed first turn your scorpions were still infiltrated
You're not going to find an answer for this in the book, but they *can* infiltrate and they *can* take a transport.. Just you're gonna have to decide on where and when to destroy the transport
I recommend just deploying it during the deployment phase in which the scorpions would normally deploy if they did not infiltrate