Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Being a Necron player, I'm constantly playing with units that function as jet bikes. A question that keeps coming up is line of sight. For some reason I've got it in my head that jet bikes can "elevate" themselves to shoot over intervening terrain, close combats, etc. The rules state that they can end their move hovering over pieces of terrain, so why not? My understanding is that if jet bikes can "elevate" to shoot at something, then that something (and anything else for that matter) can shoot back.
Is this acceptable or am I way off base here? Any help?
I would say that you can't. Skimmers back in the 2nd Edition could pop out from behind terrain but not now.
"They say the Darkness consumes you. They don't say what happens after It's done."
The jetbike can either hover over terrain or drop down into it. Hovering over the terrain means no difficult terrain tests but also no cover. The model is considered one size category higher than the underlying terrain and will most likely be able to shoot or get shot from anywhere on the board. Jetbikes that are not hovering over terrain cannot end their movement at a different level. So, if they're not over terrain they are always assumed to be at the same level as infantry and LOS will be blocked normally by size 2 and 3 objects.
This is most likely done to ease the gameplay. It would be a real pain if you had to identify what level each skimmer was always at. I assume this is the main reason aircraft has not been introduced into 40k. It always seemed odd to me there were no flying transports or gunships in the normal rules.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.