Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Okay, one last question. I played a game last night where a model was falling back and its fallback move left the model exactly on the board edge... it didn't breach the edge, but was right at it. The rules say that when a model reaches the edge it's out of play. In your opinion would being right at the edge be considered out of play or does your move need to carry the model past it?
I usually play it that the entire base has to be able to stay on, if not then it's off. If it looks like it might go off then measure carefully.
The rulebook says they just have to reach it, not move right off the board. GW wanted this to be a harsh rule on purpose. If a model even touches the board edge when falling back the whole unit is gone.Originally Posted by thysalyx
Actually, if it touches the edge for any reason what-so-ever it's considered gone. If you purposely move or deploy the unit touching the edge, it's gone. It's supposed to prevent players from hugging the edge, but I think it's kinda pointless. On the edge or a millimetre away. . . the difference is insigificant unless the unit is falling back. Indeed that how my group agrees to play it. A unit on the edge is fine, unless it happens to be falling back. In that case, like the rules say, it's gone.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"