Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Alright, I have yet to buy the 40k Rulebook so I'm going to ask a rules question but it doesn't require you to give me any copyrighted material so don't lock me, please?
I've recently become aware of the fact that Independant Characters cannot start the game as part of a unit that isn't a Command squad. I just want clarification here. Can they Deepstrike in as one choice? Can they start together in a vehicle? Is there any way for them to begin as a single unit?
I ask because I'm currently assembling my Space Marines and my Commander is in Terminator armor and is supposed to be accompanied by a Terminator Assault squad. Since Assault Terminators aren't a Command squad choice they're regular Elites.
Am I screwed?
I'm almost 100% positive that you can deep strike them in together as long as you successfully roll for both of them for the reserves roll. A character can join or leave a unit during the movement phase and you deep strike during the movement phase.Can they Deepstrike in as one choice?I've seen professional players at Grand Tournaments do this, so I would have to say that yes they can start in a vehicle as long as you aren't calling that vehicle in from reserves, which would change the situation a bit.Can they start together in a vehicle
Ahh, good. I didn't buy a Land Raider Crusader for nothing then. I'd rep. you but I'm afraid I just did for that other post .
EDIT: Come to think of it, this should have gone in the Rules forum :blush: .
Last edited by Zanzibar; September 14th, 2005 at 06:24.
so be it...
Units deep-striking do not start anywhere in particular with respect to each other. Until they are on the table, their position is entirely indeterminite. Thus, it follows that the only time you can declare that an IC has joined a squad is when both are on the table (and in coherency with each other, of course). Since they are not joined until they land, they must deep-strike and scatter separately. If they happen to scatter within coherency they can be declared joined in the movement phase.Originally Posted by H0urg1assReserves entering from the board edge (or equivalent) arrive via their natural movement. If both the vehicle and the IC arrive in the same turn, the vehicle can "move" onto the field and then the IC can move onto the field and enter embarkation range. At that point, the IC can get in. Basically, they don't actually come onto the field together, but the IC can board a vehicle in the same turn he arrives.I've seen professional players at Grand Tournaments do this, so I would have to say that yes they can start in a vehicle as long as you aren't calling that vehicle in from reserves, which would change the situation a bit.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
This is a common error that I see. Let's see if I can't clear it up...Originally Posted by Zanzibar
An IC may be deployed with another unit at the start of the game if you so wish, even if it isn't a retinue. E.G. you may deploy your Commander with a Terminator Assault Squad inside their Land Raider.
An IC may not arrive with another squad through deep strike or other reserves rules. To deep strike your HQ you must give him a command squad. E.G. you may Teleport your Commander and attached Terminator Command Squad into battle.