Rapid fire wpns and charging? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    125
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    4 (x1)

    Rapid fire wpns and charging?

    I have Deathguard CSM with true grit. I know that I cannot get the bonus for charging into Close combat, but can I enter close comabt at all? I gues I am trying to ask:
    Can u enter close combat at all after rapid fireing at an enemy


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Age
    36
    Posts
    391
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x1)

    Regular models may not as the BGB restricts charging after firing rapid fire weapons.

    There are exceptions however such as Bikes and Jetbikes.

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Scotch Plains, NJ, USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    A normal infantry unit cannot charge after firing rapid fire weapons unless they have a specific rule that allows them to do so. Bikes and Jetbikes act as stable weapons platforms and can always fire to full effect. Models like terminators always act as if stationary when firing any weapons and therefore should be able to still assault.

    So if you don't have a special rule then you can't shoot and assault.
    I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Corianis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Regional South Australia
    Age
    35
    Posts
    1,066
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    112 (x4)

    Just to point out, Terminators do count as stationary even when shooting. But this in no way allows them to fire rapid fire weapons and still assault.
    Back in the trial assault rules for 3rd Ed they could, but no longer.
    If, on the other hand, your termies have heavy, assault or combi-assault weapons, you are fine,
    ___
    Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
    Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom

  6. #5
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,961
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

    Quote Originally Posted by Corianis
    Just to point out, Terminators do count as stationary even when shooting. But this in no way allows them to fire rapid fire weapons and still assault.
    Back in the trial assault rules for 3rd Ed they could, but no longer.
    Check the "Notes" part of the "shooting and assaulting" section on page 36 of the rulebook.

  7. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Posts
    545
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    2 (x2)

    Currently the only non terminator/bike model that can rapid fire and assault is the tzeetch rubric marine, thanks to slow and purposeful.

    And yes, while the description of rapid fire says that you cannot assault after shooting it, the terminator and slow and purposeful entries both mention that the "model does not count as shooting for assaulting".

  8. #7
    LO Zealot
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    1,961
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    35 (x4)

    ...as well as obliterators and chaos dreads.

    [/smartass mode]
    Last edited by ArchonAstaroth; September 26th, 2005 at 21:07.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts