Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I had a disagreement with an Alitoc player recentaly and I was currious if you could solve it for me. for those of you familiar with the annoiance table that the Alitoc eldar have 2 of the 6 possibilities have my units pulled off the board and placed into reserves.
Now this hasn't happened yet, but I was under the assumption that if say a unit of terminators or raptors who are deepstrike capible are pulled off the board and put into reserves by this table, I could then deepstrike them when they became availible.
He claims that if I want to deepstrike something I have to claim it in advance. Thus if my termies are pulled off, and come on in turn 3 they would have to walk on, as I didn't chose to deepstrike them in the first place.
Disruption is resolved *after* deployment. So by that point you should have decided whether the terminators are deep striking or not. If you put them on the table, you haven't elected to deep strike them. My advice would be to deep strike them against alaitoc, just in case .
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I don't agree. When I have a unit in Reserves I don't have to indicate they are teleporting until I place them on the board. I can choose to deploy them like normal reserves when they arrive instead of teleporting. The rules state that units in Reserves must be identified as such but their actual deployment doesn't happen until they successfully roll their Reserves roll.
If the ability specifically states that they become Reserves (notice the case) then they become exactly that. It doesn't matter how they were originally placed as they are now Reserves as the ability states. When they are deployed you can decide their deployment/movement method.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.
I'm not sure if there is a clear answer, but as far as I can tell in order to deepstrike the only prerequisite is to start the game in reserves, pg 84 BBB. Therefore is the start of the game when turn 1 starts, or when start deploying your troops?
The Reserves rule states that if a unit may use Deep Strike then it can do this instead of moving onto a table edge. So yes, if the mission allows DS then they could.
There seems to be a misconception on the reserve rules apparantly
The "reserve" rule allows units to move on from the table edge. This rule is in affect in missions which say "reserves" such as Omega missions
Deepstrike, on the other hand, is similar to reserves except that units may only enter the board via deep strike. There is a reason why there are 2 different rules
if you play a mission without the reserve rules then your terminators MUST teleport into battle or deploy as normal
Knowing my word isnt good enough, read Deep strike a bit more carefully again
"If you wish to use this option then the units in question begin the game in reserve - it does not matter whether the reserve special rule is in force for the mission. Roll for arrival of these units as specified in the Reserve rules and then deploy them as follows."
This clearly states that you only ROLL as per reserves and then you deploy them as "follows" IE what is in the next paragraph.
Missions which use deep strike DO NOT AUTOMATICALLY use the reserves rule. Units are simply put into reserve, which is different
So again, if a unit is deep striking and there is no reserves rule in affect then that unit must Deep Strike. Feel free to argue but please use the rulebook and not what you want to happen
That quote seems to say to me that I could deepstrike a unit that has been pulled off the board by the disruption table. They are removed from the table and placed in reserves even if reserves isn't being used by the mission. Therefore I would continue to think that I could deep strike termies or anything else which was pulled off the board, as long as deepstrike rules are in play, even if I had innitialy deployed them, as it seems both deepstrike rules and reserves back this up.
Swooping Hawks for instance, can deepstrike even if the mission normaly dosn't allow it, and Alitocs make you have reserves even if it normaly isn't in the mission. Thus the units pulled off still come on via reserves rules.
I play Alaitoc, and I love my disruption rolls...
The Reserves rule clearly states that if a unit can, and the mission allows, then they can deep strike if they are in reserve. Even if I'd like it not to, I have to say that thats the way it is.
I hate them, but maybe because the guy who plays them takes 8 ranger/pathfinder squads, then vypers and grav falcons with CTM and just sits in cover or behind it. It's just annoing.