Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
When a unit "mobs" up with another I am under the impression that the retreating mob cease to exist and their number is added to the mob they mob up with. (This is probably were I get it wrong.)
However, a Tankbusta-mob always pass morale checks for tank shock and has some bonuses when rolling for penetration. When a Tankbusta-mob retreats and mobs up with another mob, what happens to the special abilities?
1a) They lose the autopass on morale checks when tank shocked.
1b) Something else.
2a) They lose the bonus penetration.
2b) The models which were part of the ork force keep their bonus on armour penetration rolls.
2c) Something else.
And, vice versa, when another non-tankbusta mob mobs up with a Tankbusta-mob, what happens then?
3a) The entire mob still automatically passes morale checks for tank shock.
3b) As parts of the component mobs were not tankbustas the entire mob lose the autopass on morale checks when tank shocked.
3c) Something else.
4a) Everyone, including those who just joined the Tankbustas, get to add a bonus on armour penetration rolls.
4b) Only former Tankbustas get to add a bonus on armour penetration rolls.
4c) Something else.
I am inclined to consider the a's to be the correct ruling due to the rule on the Tankbusta unit referring to "mob" - as opposed to other similar rules (like flash gits, commandoes and Trukkaboys which have rules with bonuses which don't refer to the "mob").
What do you think?
Has this been discussed before?
I believe it says in the ork codex that the mob is counted as being destroyed and becomes part of the mob it is mobbing up with.. Therefore since the unit is destroyed it has no special abilities beyond what weapons the models are carrying and its individual statline
I believe so too, That covers 1a) and 2a). But does this work the other way around - do a mob mobbing up with a Tankbustas mob become Tankbustas?Originally Posted by Kirasu
well, it would seem to indicate that the mod does indeed become tankbustas, as their original squad is destroyed, and no further record is kept of them, and they become part of the new unit, for better or for worse. It would be silly to have to keep track say three tankbusta models, two slugga boyz, a couple og storm boyz etc...in a huge mob, don't you think. So I think we'll settle for this one