Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Can my Warp Spiders use the Hit & Run ability on my opponent's turn?
I "Think" the disengaging is considered part of your normal movement options. Since you can't move in your opponents turn (except to flee), I would say no.
40K: Tyranid, Necron, Space Wolves
Fantasy: Dark Elves, Lizardmen, Orcs & Goblins, Dwarves
No, Hit and Run can only be used in your phase. If they survive to your turn and still meet the Hit and Run requirements then they could run then.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.
Thanks guys. This forum rocks.
I see no reason why they couldn't hit and run in the opponent's phase.
pg 74 of the BGB states that the unit must be in close combat and can hit and run at the end of the close combat phase.
As close combat happens in both players turns, I see no reason why you can't hit and run in any turn.
I have a question of my own though, could you assault a vechicle without a WS value and hit and run away from it? AKA assualt a rhino you can't hurt, and hit and run for extra distance? The unit is involved in a combat, so it seems like they should be able to hit and run away from the tank.
As far as the rules go, I agree with xrix1. But as to your question, I think that would fall under the debate (Rending Claws vs vehicles) that happened in the Tyranid forum a few months ago regarding attacking a vehicle that didn't move in the vehicle owner's phase.
Hit and Run only happens at the end of a combat phase, indicating the combat is continuing. Since there are multiple arguments that point to CC ending after you assault a vehicle (and just as many pointing to the fact the CC continues if you are still in B2, it's going to fall under how you interperet the rules for assaulting a vehicle.
Last edited by Gojiratoho; October 12th, 2005 at 18:10. Reason: Adding a link to a previous thread
Gyauayuayuayua! Ja! Ve vill crush da little girly men in deir little girl men awrmor! Ve vill see owur enemies driven befowur us, und hear da lahmentaytions of deir wemen. Und from owur home planet, de stayte uf Califowurnia, ve vill lawunch owur mighty offensive. Even if you kill us, ve'll be bach!! Gyauayauyauyauyau!
-Arnoldunit Schwarzenecronegger; when questioned about the impending doom he would rain down upon the heads of his doomed enemies.
Well if i go by this interpretation then, any ability that doesnt specify who's turn, I can use in my opponent's turn. So my warp spiders can take their 2nd jump in my opponents phase as well? Because, hey, my opponent has a movement phase too. Or i can use my farseer's mind war in my opponent's shooting phase?Originally Posted by xrix1
Or maybe i'm taking your interpretation too far. I appreciate all the input.
More opinions please!
Archeantus, don't wory about it, i'll still get you in the end. "GAZING ACROSS THE STARS ARCHANTIUS THINKS TO HIMSELF WILL THERE EVER BE A TIME WHEN THE UNIVERSE WILL BE AT PEACE? THE ANSWER COMES TO HIM IN THE FORM OF A SCYTHING TALON IMPAILING ITS SELF INTO HIS CHEST."
I Agree With Xrix 1. However That Just Brings On A Whole New Set Of Problems With The Way The Rules Are Worded.