Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I just read an article that contained a disturbing mention of heavy bolter usages.
In this article it insinuated that if you fire a havoc squad (devastator squad) carrying 4 heavy bolters at a full transport, you should roll your dice one at a time so that when the transport is destroyed the remaining shots could then be applied to the cargo it expels!?!
How can that be right?
Aren't the transport and it's contents seperate units?
Once the transport is destroyed, even if it is open topped, the remainder of the shots should be null, right?
The unit the havoc squad was attacking was definately the transport, it's destruction doesn't allow for any 'carrying over' of a remainder of shots to the cargo does it?
How far off base am I in my thinking?
It's nonsense. One squad applies it's shooting to one target at the same time.
So if they shoot the rhino and destroy it, any further shots are wasted. This would still apply to long fangs, who can split their fire, since all their weapons are resolved simultaneously.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
the dedicated transports are part of the same unit as its cargo. IF it was a landraider or falcon which is not a dedicated transport then it wouldn't work. Im not saying that if a wave serpant and a squad of howling bashees part ways that destroying the serpant results in automatically hitting the banshees. but if you shoot a dedicated transport with guys still in it when they fall out the unit should still be able to shoot them with the rest of the squad.
besides one guy can have a quicker trigger finger
Also is there actually anything in the rule book about this? that would help
Last edited by Librarian Augustine; October 12th, 2005 at 22:25.
Completely unsupported by the rulebook.. Please do not post "opinions" as rules
The unit is firing at the SAME time at the same target, how in the world do you expect a unit that fires at the same time to magically be able to shoot a target that appears afterwards?
You are supposed to roll all dice at once, doing so would clear up this subject quite easily
And yes this is covered in the rulebook. The answer to the above question is "All additional shots are wasted"
Rork and Kirasu are correct. Although the transport is purchased as an additional part of the unit, additional shots from the same unit do not pass on to passengers after destruction of the vehicle.
BGB page 65, Choosing a vehicle as a target:
"If one of your unit's shooting forces the passengers aboard an enemy vehicle to disembark during your Shooting phase, they may be shot at by units that have not yet fired in that Shooting phase."
Clearly indicates the passengers may not be shot unless the firing unit has not fired yet in the current Shooting phase. Since the unit that destroyed the transport has fired (at the transport) it may not fire at the passengers.
BGB pg 68, Damage to passengers & Entangled.
Explains that passengers forced to disembark are pinned and "may be shot at by subsequent firing units ..."
It also has a chart for the unit taking generic "hits" from emergency disembarking.
Subsequent. Again, the current unit cannot injure the passengers, but other friendly units that have not fired yet may fire at them.
Hope this helps.
ok it helps me too. I wish i had known this before i wrote the tactica, as my friends have always told me that you could shoot at the occupants. Joker if you go to article disscussion i discredited the 4 heavy bolters anyways.
I'm pretty bad at remembering all the rules and I can't play without refering to the book at least once every turn! :wacko:Originally Posted by librarian Augustine
So I thought I was playing wrong, and it wouldn't have surprised me if I had been.
Kudos to you for re-addressing the situation.!