Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Alrighty. Here's the problem.
I have several types of units in my Chaos army list that have different marks:
A unit with the Mark of Slaanesh, an elites unit with Mark of Nurgle, and an elites unit with Mark of Chaos Undivided.
Can I give all three of these units an Icon that can summon the same Daemons? For example, can I give an "Icon of X Chapter" to each of the units to summon Daemonettes and Furies, as those are the two Daemon squads I have in my army?
Do I have to specify what type of Icon it is? i.e. Icon of Slaanesh/Nurgle/Undivided? And, finally, can an Icon of Slaanesh be given to a squad with the Mark of Nurgle, and can it summon non-Slaaneshi daemons?
I'm probably overcomplicating this in my head, but any responses will be appreciated. ^_^
All units can have an icon for free. A unit with a particular mark will always have an icon of that mark, with the drawbacks associated with it which usually entail not summoning other god's daemons (See the section on Chaos icons).Originally Posted by Lost Nemesis
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
So, then:Originally Posted by Rork
My unit with the Mark of Slaanesh will have an Icon of Slaanesh, therefore can summon Daemonettes and Furies (as Furies, it seems, are "generic" Daemons?).
My unit with the Mark of Nurgle will have an Icon of Nurgle, and can only summon the Furies.
My unit with the Mark of Chaos Undivided will have an Icon of Chaos Undivided, and can summon all types of Daemons.
Is that correct?
i've been thinking what type of icon(s) can a unit with no marks have?
Fear The Wrath Of The ANZAC Clan!
All Bow For The Anime Clan!
When did I realise I was God?
Well one day I was praying and I realised...
I was talking to myself!
Primarch Of The Iron Clan
Tough one to field. Think I have the answer though.Originally Posted by zeus
If you are talking about the free icon that squads get for having a Mark, then it's not applicable in this situation. Only by taking a Mark do you get the free icon.
Personal Icons though are a bit tougher. Two lines in the Chaos Codex will give us the answer though. Second line under "Personal Icon" reads -
"The Icon will be aligned with whatever power the model bears the Mark of."
So, since the model bears no mark, the Personal Icon has no alignment. But does that mean he can or can not summon daemons?
Third paragraph under "Daemon Summoning", fourth sentence -
"Daemons will only manifest next to an Icon of Chaos Undivided or an Icon belonging to a squad with the same Mark as the Daemons themselves."
So, since no Daemon has a "No Alignment" status, and the Icon is not aligned to any power, no Daemons can be summoned to the Icon. Essentially, you just wasted 10 points.
Hrm, Onlainari might me angry at me.