Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
This is a must know question, do ordance and blast weapons ingnore cover saves? If so please give a page reference.
I don't believe so.
The only way the rules would allow for that would be if they stated that template weapons ignore coversaves. But I think that that rule is part of the weapons rules (eg flamer) rather than the template rules.
Greetings from Planet X, I hope you enjoy your day.
Join us in the Librarium Online Chatroom
They are not flamers so no. Read up on the ordnance and blast special rules. cant give refference as not got rulebook handy
No, blast/ordnance weapons do not ignore cover saves. See pages 31-32 of the BGB for details. You will see that only template (e.g. flame) weapons have a rule allowing them to ignore cover saves.
Side Note: all template weapons ignore covers saves as it is specified in the BGB, not just flamers.
Last edited by Lleu; October 22nd, 2005 at 10:26.
Does the same ruling apply for ordonance barrage? You know because the round gets dropped on their heads which means it sort of passing by the cover?
We play it at the club that barrage weapons draw their LOS from the blast markers' hole. Thus if it scatters in front of the trench that the enemy is hiding behind, they get their cover save. If it does as planned and lands smack bang on their heads then they gain no save. Area terrain because it's continuous always gives a save.
... only triumph could turn pooing his pants into a good thing..
no ordanance barrage has the same ruling probably to simplify things (4th ed simplified the game too much) due to bunkers and forrest so they just made everything like that
P.S.: Does the template on hellhounds ignore cover saves?
Fear The Wrath Of The ANZAC Clan!
All Bow For The Anime Clan!
When did I realise I was God?
Well one day I was praying and I realised...
I was talking to myself!
Primarch Of The Iron Clan
Yes, they would as their still flamers. Well thanks for that (although mabye not thanks at the same time )Originally Posted by zeus
I thought it said if the blast marker center lands in front of cover they get it, but if it lands behind the cover no saves are allowed. Maybe I'm thinking of 3rd ED. Who knows.
Most weapons grant cover saves based on the direction of the weapon to the target. If you draw a line between the two and there is cover in the way then the target unit gets a cover save. E.G. If a unit hides behind some rocks then they get a cover save.
Barrages (including Ordnance Barrages) fall from above so cover is calculated from the centre of the blast marker to the target, not from the weapon. E.G. Same as above but if the barrage scatters behind them then they won't get a cover save. If the barrage scatters in front of the rocks then they do get a cover save.