Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a unit has a dedicated transport capable of shooting (say a Chimera) and an auspex. If the unit detects infiltrators they have a LOS to, can the vehicule also take a shot?
If they're in it I wouldn't say no, but if it's on the other side of the table, I dunno about that. Dedicated transports are not really part of the unit they are attached to (even though they come under the same points cost). They can move around independantly and don't have to maintain coherency.
I think it would be pushing it to say that because, for example, an IG vet sarge has a surveyor, the chimera his squad took which is deployed 40" away also gets a shot at any infiltrators within the distance rolled for the surveyor, but measured from the chimera. Is this waht you mean?
Good question. :huh:
No, obviously, the said transport vehicule would also have to be within the rolled auspex/surveyor range. Rolling a "17" that would allow a squad to shoot and including a transport 30" away would definitely be cheesy...
Simple one - no. The vehicle is a separate unit.Originally Posted by boreas
This is wrong - the vehicle isn't seperate, it's just like a squad upgrade - that's why the vehicle can't claim table quarters on its own. But under the rules for the auspex it says the unit gets a free shot at any infiltrators within 4D6. I don't believe the vehicle counts as part of the unit as such, but it's not a seperate unit, just an upgrade like a missile launcher - and the missile launcher itself doesnt get an extra shot at the unit, just the guy carrying it. So i'd say no, no luck with the vehicle. Although if a unit is in a chimera and can shoot lasguns out, i'd say in this case the unit alone but not the vehicle can shoot.Originally Posted by are
The only difference between tattooed people and non-tattooed people is that tattooed people are awesome and can kick your ass.
"War does not determine who is right - only who is left."
The only rule for which a transport upgrade is not counted as a totally separate unit from the squad it is dedicated to is when you roll for reserves.Originally Posted by Lordofchange
The transport targets units on its own.
It moves on its own but may transport the unit.
It is targeted separatedly.
It does not have to be kept within a certain distance of the parent unit.
When coming in from reserve it can come in from another place than the parent unit.
You calculate victory points for the transport separately, where applicable. In most circumstances the transport does not count as a scoring unit, but that has nothing to do with it being part of another unit (which it is not).
I thought I read somewhere that you couldn't use wargear when you're inside a vehicle. I know the Teleport Homer and Daemon Summoning icons were affected by this rule and I thought it covered all wargear.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.