Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've read about this in tactical articles (most recently in the 'Funnel of Doom' article by briancv).
Can a whirlwind lay down multiple minefields ontop of each other, then if an enemy moves though the minefield(s) they take multiple hits? It would seem to me that an area of terrain is either mined or not-mined, and cannot be 'double-mined'.
Also, I've heard speak that you can't be hit by your own mines if you happen to walk through them.
To me, this is the equivalant of having a Leman Russ's battlecannon scatter onto friendly Guardsmen, and the Guardsmen not being effected by the str8 cannon.
i'd say that no you can't put mines on top of each other, or if you do that it still only counts as one minefield.
as for the not harming your own troops, i don't have the codex but for most things if GW didn't want it to screw over your troops then it'd say "any non marine models" etc. as it probably doesn't then it can harm your troops.
It says "any enemy model", so it looks like allied models can waltz over the minefields all they want and not trigger them.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
This is 40,000 years in the future. You don't have to stretch your imagination very far to think they have a transponder in their armor that deactivates mines when they are in proximity. Our vehicles have Identify Friend or Foe (IFF) transponders that perform the exact same fuinction on today's battlefield. Within the next ten to twenty years every trooper will have this also, so thinking this technology survived the next 39,000 years isn't impossible.
I would assume two minefields placed on top of each other would still create only a single minefield.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.
No, any one doing so really needs a slap. You can, providing you get the hits, over lap mine field markers, but the idea of "double mining" is rather silly, and while it may not be stated in the rules that you can't do it, it doesn't mean you can either.
Remember....slapage is the answer to this.
This is one of those annoying grey areas. While yes, it doesn't state that friendy units can or cannot be harmed by a mine field, common sense would dictate that friendly units CAN be hurt by mines, since land mines tend not to be able to pick who they kill.
Common sense returns however, in the form that, unless a friendly unit didn't know about a mine field, they'd have little or no reason to go through it in the first place.
My advice however on this is to roll for it. Dice made decisions are always your friend....up to the point that the decision goes against you...then you hate it...but thats beside the point...the point this, tis a fair way of finding a short term answer to a question like this.
Want to chat? You can normally find me in the LO CHAT!
LO CHAT! JOIN US NOW AND BECOME A GOD OF BACON.
Firstly, what happens with overlapping minefields is unclear. Personally I'm happy to let an opponent double mine an area - two overlapping minefields will have twice the number of mines in it, greatly increasing your chances of being hurt. That said, seeing as the rules are ambiguous you ought to discuss it with your opponent prior to battle, perhaps sort out a house rule for future games.
Secondly, you definitely can't be hurt by your own mines. The Codex clearly states that enemy models moving through a minefield may trigger the mines but it makes no mention of friendly models. Ergo, friendly models cannot trigger mines.