Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Could anyone advise with this, please:
I have a brood of genestealers assaulting a SM squad in cover. According to my read of the rulebook, on the initial charge the marines get effective Initiative 10, and so strike first against the 'stealers. On later assault phases the 'stealers will strike first as they have a higher normal initiative than the marines.
On my next assault phase, I charge in a second brood of 'stealers to attack the marines as well.
How does this affect the Initiative order?
Do my first 'stealers strike first, then the marines, then the second brood of 'stealers?
Do the marines get Initiative 10 against both broods again?
Or because the marines are engaged in combat already, does normal initiative apply because they're not benefitting from cover any more?
There's your answer.Originally Posted by andrewthotep
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
The BGB states that cover only protects a unit during the first round of combat. The reference to this statement is the defender, not the attacker. So once the defender in in CC for more than one round fifty other units can join the fight and they never get the cover bonus again.
There have also been arguments to decide if the unit entering CC on the second turn gets the charging bonus. The charging bonus states it is given because the models charge forward into the combat. It only affects the first-turn as every turn after that the CC is a melee of life and death so everyone fights at the same level. Therefore it can be concluded that units entering the CC cannot charge into it and would not get the charging bonus. However this is not clear in the BGB or FAQ and is up for interpretation. But I think it's fair if they don't get the cover bonus you shouldn't get the charging bonus for the same reason.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.
Now that's an interesting - and plausible - interpretation. Thanks!
There is nothing really more to comment on.. The above answers are correct
Once you are locked in combat you gain no benefits from cover