Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I'm pretty new to the game, so please forgive me if these are dumb questions... (if they have already been answered somewhere, please direct me to said location... I searched and didn't see anything that answered my questions...)
I have played a couple games with my friend. He plays forces that like to assault (Khorn, Nids, etc), while I tend to play forces that rely on shooting (at first a Tau force, now an IG force). My question is as follows:
When a unit assaults, after the assault for that unit is resolved, and consolidation moves are taken, if that unit ends in base to base contact with another of my units (whether because my units held their ground, or because he consolidated into another unit), does his unit get to iniate another assault on the new unit? The problem I'm seeing is that his units, which are geared toward CC, come in, lock and destroy a unit, and jump to the next; repeat this process until most of my units are gone and it's not a very enjoyable game for me. As soon as his units hit my line, I don't get to move anybody as a stopgap (by moving them out of his effective assaulting range) or assault spoiler (by moving close combat geared units into the fray). :cry:
I was reading in the rules, and it makes it sound like this "rolling assault" that he likes to pull isn't legal. Mainly, the unit only gets to assault one unit... if it remains in contact with an enemy unit at the end of its assault phase, it then locks them in CC, and doesn't attack again (however, forcing said enemy unit to assault in the next phase without being able to shoot or move or get charging bonus). Please let me know if I'm correct in my thinking or if he is... if possible, reference specific points in the rules so that I can point them out to him next we play. Please keep other special force rules in mind, too...
Thanks much for your time! I look forward to the responses!
if some khorne beserkers crash into your unit in assault then they could either wipe it out (or cause enough casualties to make it fall back) or not. if the assaulting unit wipes out the enemy or makes them fall back the consolidate d6" or 3" respectively. then they stand there throughout your entire turn.
if they fail to force the unit to fall back or fail to massacre it then the combat will continue to the next assault phase (yours) if the assulting unit then procedd to wipe out the unit they get the same consolidation as above. the main difference is that the next turn is his, so he gets to move and assault in that turn.
hope that somehow helped without being too confusing.
edit: sorry, somehow missed the question.
if his consolidate move takes him into another of your units then he counts as being locked in combat (ie, yo can't shoot him) but he gets none of the bonuses for charging, ie. no extra attacks, no furious charge etc.
however, it does stop you shooting him.
with IG my advice is to space your units out a bit, so they're more than 6" away from each other, as your units are tiny and have low leadership you should be able to lose combat in his turn, he'll consolidate but you should still be able to fire at him.
Last edited by TzarNikolai; November 7th, 2005 at 21:06.
Okay... so only one round of attacks, per unit, per assault phase? Regardless of whether he consolidated into a new unit or failed to push back/destroy? (I'm just verifying my thinking/reading skills here )
If this is true, them this makes me quite a bit happier...
yes. only one round of attacks.
if he consolidates into your unit he just stands there till the next assault phase. then gets his attacks.
Thank you very much for the assistance!!