Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
If a unit of mine moves during my opponent's turn, can it fire heavy weapons during my own turn? I'm going to be playing Black Templars, so sooner or later this is going to come up. The only rule that I know of that is similar is All They Shall Know No Fear, which isn't exactly the same thing. If you can cite where you've found your ruling, bonus points to you. Perhaps even a bright, shiny lapel pin. A carnation.
By moving in the opponent's turn I assume you're refering to falling back. Normally, a unit regroups at the beginning of its movement phase. Failing or succeeding the test to regroup means that the unit may not move any further until its next turn and it counts as having moved for the purpose of shooting. "And They Shall Know No Fear" negates those last two points. The unit may move and shoot as normal, or stay put and fire heavy weapons.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
Well, the Black Templars have the "fall forward" rule (they never fall back). I'm not entirely sure how much it differs from the falling back rule (aside from the fact that it is slightly reversed).
I believe though, that as long as you do not move at all during your turn, that you're good to fire that lascannon/plasma cannon/whatever.
My 40K Armies:
- Thousand Sons
- Mordian Imperial Guard
- Dark Eldar
My Fantasy Armies:
- Lhamian Vampire Counts
Actually we -can- fall back now. If you succeed at your save, you go forwards. If you fail, you go backwards. It makes sense and makes Commanders a -lot- more valuable. So far it sounds like nobody knows of a rule on this... so since there isn't anything that says you -can't- shoot the weapon, I suppose I'm perfectly good. Thanks.
I believe movement preventing heavy weapon usage can only happen in your movement phase.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.