Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
OK, I've been a lurker for some time but decided to jump in and ask a couple questions. Hopefully someone can clarify.
Played a game last night with a friend. He played Speed Freaks, I played Necrons. We diced for a mission and came up with 'Rescue'.
1.) Under Mission Set-Up you can only deploy 'Troops' to start the game. All other units deploy in Reserve. Can I 'join' my Necron Lord (IC-HQ) to one of my Troops so that he starts the game on board with them or does he have to start in Reserve like everyone else? Essentially, does the unit remain a 'Troop' choice if an IC-HQ is joined to it?
2.) I understand Speed Freaks don't have dedicated transports (can use which ever Trukk is nearby). At the beginning of his movement phase he has a Trukk loaded with a unit of Orcs, he also has another unit of Orcs deployed nearby. Can the Trukk Disembark the Orcs currently in the transport, Embark the second unit of Orcs nearby and then move away normally? I know the rules say 'Infantry' can't Embark/Disembark in the same turn but I don't see anything about Transports not being able to do this.
you deploy your HQ at a different time from the troops and he's a different unit. so he can't become "troops" and has to start in reserve if such a scenario were to be played.
i dunno about orks. are you sure their not dedicated?
i don't think there's anything in the rules to stop you from disembarking one squad and embarking another in the same movement phase.
1) No, an IC cannot be joined to another unit that is not his retinue until both are on the table. They can be deployed together, but only if both arrive on the table at the same time. Since only Troops can be deployed on the first turn of that game, the Lord must wait in reserves.
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"
You can't embark and then disembark in the same turn, however a transport can disembark one unit and then embark another provided it is allowed to transport both.Originally Posted by NecroWesty