Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Just one question: If a gauss weapon attacks a vehicle it can penetrate the armor easily, like the heavy gauss cannon, does a roll of six become a penetrating hit, or is it glance because of the gauss rule? In the codex it says it doesn't become a glancing AND a penetrating hit, but it doesn't seem to say which result happens.... If you could, please be specific to places i could cite as to convince my friend whom despite my best efforts, refuses to believe that a Heavy Destroyer rolling a six in the penetration roll will penetrate instead of just glance.
It's still a penetrating hit.Originally Posted by durhead
It if would be a penetrating hit to begin with, it won't downgrade to a glancing - that's absurd.
The reason why it says you can't have both is simply because they don't want someone trying to roll once on the penetrating table, as well as the glancing table, basically saying it's two hits.
It's extremely obvious and logical, and if your friend won't listen to reasoning, I wouldn't play with him, honestly. It's a very simple rule.
If a gauss weapon has the strength to normally penetrate then it will be a penetrating hit eg. Heavy Gauss Cannons. That rule was just to clarify that if you did roll a penetrating hit that it wouldn't ALSO give a glancing hit.
I do not own Codex: Necrons, but to the best of my recollection there is no passage which makes it literally clear that you are correct. However, the intent of the rule is extremely obvious. Sadly this is a fairly common situation in a game written by people who still think "dice" is singular.Originally Posted by durhead
I do have a copy of the codex and this is true - there's nothing saying that the penetrating hits do not get changed to glancing. However, there's nothing saying that they do.Originally Posted by Drake Dun
Honestly, if your friend is going to play using that type of logic, I suggest you don't even play him. But hey, that's just me.
Huh. The dictionary definition you quoted leaves no room for doubt but that is weird since all the Brits Aussies and Knucks I have asked have said "die" is the only correct singular.Originally Posted by are
I can say from experience that we do not use "dice" as a singular in America, ever, despite what the dictionary says. Not in California at least.
Edit: As I wrote, in american english 'dice' is plural.Originally Posted by Drake Dun
However, not all Englishmen know their own language either. At the Ritz in London they asked me why I was there and not at the airport. I answered that if I were at the airport I would not be there - They smiled to me and corrected (wrongly) 'was at the airport'. Stupid limey, do they not know conditionals?
Last edited by are; November 15th, 2005 at 11:18.
The book may not say jack about this but the Necron FAQ 4.0 certainly does. A hit that would normally be a penetrating hit (Heavy gauss rolling a 6 on a rhino for example) is still ONLY a penetrating hit.
Woops. Sorry. The second link you posted had a rather confusing explanation and I got turned around.Originally Posted by are