Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Ok so last time i saw my Space Marine friend play, he had a whole frigging scout squad get wiped out in one turn by some other SM player's Whirlwind barrage. That guy didn't roll for BS when using the Whirlwind's missiles, which resulted in a pretty nasty argument about those stupid Ordnance Rules...darn GW, confusing rulebook...
Do Ordnance Barrage Weapons (Basilisk, Whirlwind, etc) need to roll BS before dropping that pie plate?
And how bout Ordnance Weps which require LOS (Battle Cannon)?
Any help would be much appreciated
Ordnance doesnt need BS-rolls.
Just place the pie, check if it is in range and LoS, and then roll the scatter dice and a D6.
For indirect firing ordnance you must guess the range between the vehicle that shoots it and the place where you want your shell to land. then measure the range u geussed and place the pie there and roll the scatter dice and a D6.
If you move up to 6" you must roll 2D6 to see how far it will scatter.
I guess that's all the rules about those things.
Chaos does not need explaining! guess what? Chaos cannot be explained!Originally Posted by BobaHat
Not quite. Indirect fire, or 'barrage' weapons does not guess anymore. Just place the template and roll scatter. If you can see the target it scatters 1d6" unless the scatter die shows a 'hit' - if you can't see the target you roll 2d6 and use the highest scoring one, just as you would if you fired direct-fire ordnance after moving. If you move you can never fire indirectly.
Ok thx guys. So to sum up:
Ordnance Weps, like the battle cannon, dont roll for BS, they just put down the pie plate and roll D6" scatter.
Ordnance Barrage, like the Whirlwind, also do not roll for BS, but they scatter 2D6" if the target is not in sight.
Highest roll out of two six-sided dice.
yep. for an ordnance weapon i think of the roll to hit as the scatter die.
the template is going to land no matter what, but where it lands is up to rolling the scatter die.
a hit on the die is a hit, a scatter is either 1 d6 or 2d6 and pick the highest if you moved or are indirect firing.
edit: although i do miss the old guess range rules.
my friend in a magabattle: "my iron warrior basilisk is going to guess that as 12' 4"..."
dead on, rolls a hit, takes out the last structure point on a baneblade.
Last edited by TzarNikolai; November 15th, 2005 at 12:31.