Marine Traits for my HQ - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Member Drake - Knights Templer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    36
    Posts
    165
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    23 (x1)

    Marine Traits for my HQ

    Hi all, great to write here after a long time just reading.

    So I was in my local store a few days back playing a little Combat Patrol when my opponent said that as my Chaplin did not have 'Trust Your Battle Brother' none of the squad he had joined could use 'True Grit' or 'Counter Assult'. Is this ture?

    It also raised a load of other questions for me. Such as can my Commander take Trust Your Battle Brother' if he is part of a Command Squad with it? What about if he begins the battle with a Tacticle Squad? Etc, etc....

    I've read back through the rules but am never very good at nuances, help would be appreciated. Agreement with my view that if a Marine Character pays the points and is in a squad with the skill it is OK.

    Thanks.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Auckland, NZ
    Age
    36
    Posts
    391
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    20 (x1)

    IC's are considered part of their Command Squad so if you buy True Grit/Counter-Attack for a Command Squad then you are also buying it for the Chaplain (in this case).

    If your Chaplain does not have a Command Squad then he cannot take True Grit/Counter-Attack and there will be some conflict if he joins a unit that does have those skills. According to the Universal Special Rules on page 74-76 of the BGB, True Grit is retained by the unit but Counter-Attack is lost. Neither ability may be conferred upon the Chaplain.

  4. #3
    jtm
    jtm is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    DC
    Age
    29
    Posts
    344
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    8 (x1)

    If the chaplain joins the unit then they can not use counter attack but true grit continues to function.

    If the chaplain was in a command squad I think it would be possible for him to have true grit and counter attack, but he's better off with a bolt pistol. He should be charging into assault afterall.
    I can read now!

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts