Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Unit A and unit B are charging unit C, who is in cover. Unit A is led by an IC armed with frag grenades, but none of the troops in A or B are armed with them. Does unit A benefit from the IC's frags because he is part of the unit? Does unit B benefit from the frags because they are charging into the same assault in the same round?
Long story short: Do frag grenades help the model, the unit, or the assault?
model, i belive...
read the grenades description for the phrase "a model carrying.." or the like...
personally tho, i've always run it as the unit 'cause that makes more sense...
Pictures of the Smigs Army for your amusement....
Eagles may soar, but weasels don't get sucked into jet engines.
"Crush your enemies, see them driven before you, and hear the lamentations of their women"
"JESUS SAVES! the rest of your models each take a wound."
Thank you for the quick responses.
If this were not the case you would only have to give the unit leader grenades and you wouldn't need the option for the unit.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.
I have always known the rule to affect individual models, but this past weekend I was charged by a squad led by an IC with frags and my opponent said that the entire charging squad would fight simultanious with my troops. I said no, that it would only be the IC that gained the benefit, but my opponent reasoned that it should not matter how many grenades were thrown, as long as anyone was tossing them that it would be enough to get my troops to hunker down. From a realism standpoint he convinced me enough that I went to the rulebook and looked it up, but could not find anywhere under the grenades where it said the entire unit had to have them. I believe it said something along the lines of "...a unit equipped with grenades...." So I gave him the benefit of the doubt while scratching my head and wondering why I didn't just equip all my wolf guard leaders with them. I suppose I was just on the spot and overlooked it, when I get home I'll check the wording again (and make sure to give my buddy a call.)
Last edited by JohnPublic; November 22nd, 2005 at 22:37.