Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I was wondering, does the strength boost from a Witch Blade or Singing Spear work vs. a Monolith? I've seen answers that go both ways, and can't get to the FAQ's (at work, and it blocks 'em.)
Everything I have told you, even this, is a lie.
The only bonuses you don't get against the monolith are extra dice (MC's, melta weapons), tank hunters and lance weapons.
Strength modifiers remain the same, I believe.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
arguement continues to ths very day.
It goes something along the lines of
"well, the necron faw says "unaugmented strength"
"but it says weapon, not user"
Continues on with points by both sides including powerfists are weapons that augment, and thus should be disallowed, but people seem to believe that it only pertains to multiple dice.
Will post the threads in later.
but my thoughts tend to be that since you use unaugmented strength, SS's and WB's don't work unless the SS is thrown, in which case it doesn't triple the strength, it simply is s9.
Powerfists don't work, and on and on.
The people that say it only pertains to extra dice miss out on all the other proofs that show it pertains to more than that. Such as tank hunters, and the rest that don't work.
I play it simple, no bonuses against the monolith. No singing spears, no power fists, no extra strength, and no extra dice. You have to kill the hard way, by brute force with big guns.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.
They're pretty friggin' annoying. My Tyrnnid friend and I (useing Dark Eldar) got to fight my other Necron playing friend. I had my Dark Lance squad fireing at that dumb thing the whole time...we didn't get the stupied thing until the last turn when the Carnifex and Tyrant charged it..
Which I suppose would bring up a point to the above posts...monsterous creatures still get their 2d6 for ap... Unless I missunderstood O,o...
Yes, yes you did. No 2d6 armour pen. EVER! The only thing that comes close is ordinace. It still roll 2d6 and picks the highest.
Are you sure about that? I don't think ordinance makes any difference. And I would think the + to str would still come into effect vs. a monolith. I am going soley on memory here, but from what I remember reading, it wouldn't deny your + to str., just the extra dice. Something about "if a weapon gets extra dice or treats AV less than it's true value it is ignored"...or something, I hope that didn't break any rules.
Actually, MC and Ord are directly mentioned in the Codex. You wanna know the best way to take out a Monlith? Ignore and go for phase out. It works.
A little pain never hurt anyone - Larry
Um, doesn't the turbo penetrator roung get 2d6? Now outside of that, nothing gets it sure.Originally Posted by Novelizer
Loestol, any bonus to penetration is ignored. So no +1 from tank hunters, no double strebgth from powerfists.
And THE Hersh has it right. the easiestway to deal with a monolith is phase out (or haywire grenades or wraith cannons (IF you can get them in range, and you actually field WG)
Actually people are still arguing over that very fact I bolded. Plus isn't the turbo-penetrating round just 2d6 not str+2d6? (I dont know assassin rules.)Originally Posted by tarzen