Melee Combat Question - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member EternalEther's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    29
    Posts
    303
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    44 (x1)

    Melee Combat Question

    Alright...There is a specific example that I'm going to be talking about because I can't think of any better situation to ask for clarification.

    My Archon (with his Incubi Master, 4 othere Incubi, and 4 other warriors) charged into combat with my opponents Nercon Lord (on a jet bike) with his three reavers.

    Trying to comprehed this fight with my limited knowledge of melee combat would have made my head hurt, so I let my friend monitor it (I'm use to playing very liner Space Marines).

    My question is what WS, T, saves, and targets would be used. The way we did it was if a unit was in base to base (or within 2 inches of something that was in base to base) you had to have them attack that model. I'm not sure if this is how it is suppose to go, so I'm asking for clarification.

    It actually worked out well, his reavers were horribly difficult to kill, but I took his lord out in the second round...


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    Reavers? The only Reavers I know of are Dark Eldar jetbikes. . .

    Anyway, independant characters are separate targets in close combat (even when attached to squads), so when attacking them you don't have to worry about majority WS and Toughness. Those are only of concern with normal units. The rulebook uses the example of an Ork Slaver leading a mob of Grots. The Grots are in the majority, so attacks against the squad are made against their WS and T, even if the Slaver is in base contact. When attacking, each model always uses its own stats.

    Concerning armour saves, each model always uses its own armour save, regardless of what the rest of the squad has. The Mixed Armour rules on page 76 of the rulebook detail how this is done, but if you have questions about them, do ask. There's also a bunch of older threads regarding that very matter in this forum.

    For targetting: if a model is in base contact with an enemy unit, he must attack it. Even if he is within 2" of a model in base contact with another unit, he cannot attack it. He must attack the unit he is in contact with. If he simultaneously in contact with multiple enemy units, he much choose one and make all of his attacks against it. Models not in base contact must attack a unit that is in base contact with a friendly model within 2". If there are multiple such models and they are engaged with multiple enemy units, then one has a choice of which target to attack.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  4. #3
    Senior Member EternalEther's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    29
    Posts
    303
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    44 (x1)

    Ack...I ment reapers...

    Anyway, thanks. For clarification, in the situation I gave you, the characters could be targeted independantly, and if a model was only touching a character it would have to hit them. Likewise, a model was touching a model of the unit, it would have to attack that. And in his case, he could attack my unit of incubi and warriors or my archon, if he was next to them?

  5. #4
    LO Zealot Ostsol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
    Age
    36
    Posts
    1,907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputation
    80 (x4)

    I guess it's not really a major issue, but. . . I'm sorry to say that I still don't know what unit you're talking about. There isn't any unit called "Reapers" in the Necron codex, either. Perhaps you're refering to Pariahs? They're armed with scythes (Warscythes), so I guess that "reaper" does kinda fit as a description. . .

    Anyway, yes, as long as the unit was in base contact with both the Archon and the retinue, he could attack either one.
    Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
    Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.

    --Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"

    -Ostsol

  6. #5
    Senior Member EternalEther's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Age
    29
    Posts
    303
    Mentioned
    2 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    44 (x1)

    Arrggg...yeah, thats probably it. They have a 3+ invunerable save..

    They're not nice is all that matters.

    Ok, thanks for your help.

  7. #6
    are
    are is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Oslo, Norway
    Posts
    101
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    2 (x1)

    Wraiths

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts