Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
Another probably silly question, but hopefully someone will humor me.
If a vehical is being shot at (or attacked) and several hits are scored. Lets say the first one was a glancing 6 (vehicle destroyed) and another one eventually rolled is a penitrating 6 (vehicle explodes). Does the worse one happen, or does the vehicle get destroyed before it explodes?
All up to you. You roll one dice at a time per penetrating/glancing hit. So 2 glancing 1 pen, roll the 2 glancing together (since they are the same) and then if you didn't blow it up with those two dice roll the penetrating die.
Well, my friends and I usually work out the penetrating hits first; and if some of the dice indicate a destroyed result, we apply the worst one (i.e. KABOOM :w00t: ). Should the vehicle still stand, we continue with the glancing hits.
It doesn't really matter as long as you roll the glancing seperate from the penetrating rolls.
It could matter greatly. Not likely too, especially with my current tactics, but I just thought I would ask and get opinions. Thanks guys.
The worse one happens.
It actually doesn't matter. At the end of the combat, it will have the same result, penrtating explosion, or glancing stunned. It all works out in the end (for the Vehicle). :yes:
The attacking squad fires all its armor piercing weapons at the target in one volley.
One shot (the glancing one) destroys the vehicle (possibly detonating inside the crew compartment, killing the crew and destroying the instruments).
Another shot (that is the penetrating one) hits the ammo cache and blows up the vehicle.
Since all the shots were fired at (almost) the same time they also hit (again almost) at the same time. Therefore you should actually roll all the hits no matter the results of the first one.
Ofcourse, it makes no difference what so ever to roll subsequent glancing hits if the first one is a six, but roll all penetrating rolls until you roll a six.
Its not covered in the rules book but I don't think a vehicle can explode more than once?
As soon as its blown up, its gone. I'd assume it can't explode again . But yes, your logic is good. THats how I will be treating if the problem ever comes up.
~ Rape the churches and burn the women!
The only cases where this matters are when the vehicle explodes. Since you cannot shoot a destroyed vehicle as it simply becomes terrain after the first "Destroyed" result I typically apply only the worst "Destroyed" result.
I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.