Some Guard Tank Questions - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

Closed Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    Couple of things which have come up with the new Guard codex. First, the Inferno Cannon on the Hellhound. I can see that the template is now placed within 24" of the tank, but there doesn't seem to be any rule about the angle, so you could place it at 90 degrees to the tank, for example. Is this intentional (a sort of sheet of flame) or are you meant to face the tapered end to the Hellhound like a normal flamer?

    Secondly, the Chimera has six 'hull-mounted' lasguns in lieu of fire-points. Clearly, therefore, if I'm transporting Ogryns or Stormtroopers they fire lasguns out of the chimera, not ripperguns or hellguns. BUT, do these lasguns count in all other respects as being fired from a squad using fire points (rapid fire only if vehicle doesn't move, may fire as if moving if vehicle moves 12" or less), OR count as normal vehicle weapons (always count as stationary but subject to normal vehicle firing restrictions) OR count as pintle-mounted weapons fired by the squad (fire if vehicle moves 12" or less, may always rapid fire)???

    Thoughts or RTFMs appreciated..

    Majere


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Vindicare's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    517
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x2)

    Im pretty sure that with those lasguns, they fire by the same rules as someone shooting out of an open-topped vehicle. So if the tank doesnt move they can fire as if the troops hadnt moved, and if the tank moved, they fire as if the troops moved that far.

  4. #3
    Son of LO H0urg1ass's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Age
    38
    Posts
    2,160
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputationReputationReputationReputation
    171 (x6)

    With the inferno cannon the template is placed so that it covers the maximum amounts of enemy soldiers in the targeted unit. This means that you can turn it any direction that you wish in order to cover the most soldiers.

    You fire weapons from a transport as if the troops had moved that distance on foot. i.e. Heavy weapons cannot be fired unless vehicle is stationary, rapid fire weapon are not rapid fire if vehicle moves...ect. However, the lasguns are considered to be fired by the passengers and not the crew. This means that the lasguns can pick a different target than the vehicle mounted weapons. Also, with the Chimera and other vehicles, you can use the top hatch to fire one other weapon from the squad. This means you can fire the lasguns, the vehicle mounted weapons and then open the top hatch and fire another weapon. Remember that if the vehicle moved, then it cannot be a heavy weapon.

  5. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    11
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    The hellhound template thing is now confirmed by the official Imperial Guard FAQ, which is on the GW pages. Oddly, you don't seem to be able to find it on the 'Chapter Approved' page, UNLESS you go there via the link in the News section that announces that the FAQ has been released.. odd.

    According to the murky morass that is the GW forums (VERY odd to navigate&#33 at least one GW manager has banned this method of using the Hellhound, but IMHO it makes perfect sense and is probably why you have to make the BS 'to hit' roll. Certainly makes the 'hound more worth the points...

    On the Lasguns, from the same forum, apparently in the Trail Vehicle Rules which I have yet to track down, they count as 'Passenger Weapons', whatever that may be... :blink:

    Majere

Closed Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts