If you assault, do you have to attack? - Warhammer 40K Fantasy
 

Welcome to Librarium Online!

Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!

Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!


Register Now!

User Tag List

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23
  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    26
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    1 (x1)

    If you assault, do you have to attack?

    Interesting question this one, and without a very clear answer that I could find. Is there anywhere in the rules where it says that you must use your attacks if you charge? Certainly it is fluffy to attack, but is there a place where it says definitively one way or the other?

    I ask this because one of the players in my group will charge my spiky skorcha buggies and say things like "well they [Blood Angels] just don't attack" :rolleyes: so that he avoids taking hits when he misses.


  2. Remove Advertisements
    Librarium-Online.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Senior Member Librarian Augustine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    On Serenity headed to the Black
    Posts
    830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x2)

    NO you can not do that. second you don't stay in combat with any vehices except walkers so it would be pointless for him to do that

  4. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Scotch Plains, NJ, USA
    Age
    46
    Posts
    953
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    40 (x2)

    That's completely illegal. If you assault you must attack. To make an assault move you must get at least one model in B2B but you are not allowed to have a model within 1" unless they are engaged in an assault.
    I do not criticize. I do not offend. All I offer is my opinion which means only as much as you make it.

  5. #4
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    All BBB quotes from Assault sections, find 'em yourself.

    Once a model is in base-to-base contact, or within 2" of a model from it's own unit in b-to-b contact, with an enemy model, it is said to be ENGAGED...
    All engaged models fight with their full number of attacks...
    Point it out to him, then hit him over the head with it.
    All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.

  6. #5
    Senior Member Decado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    CHIPPENHAM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    66 (x2)

    the answer to this is no with one exception,

    your models with a meltagun shoots at a tank dont kill it then assault it even though they can't do anything to it (unless it's the rear armour) but they also have the movement to be able to reach a troop squad of one shape or another.

    so what this means is that the guys who have charged the vehicle won't attack cause they can't do anything to it, but they are still safe from being shot cause they are locked with the infantry unit.

    this is a favorite tactic of mine if my raptors fluff it and don't destroy the tank.
    WARMASTER of the SCHOLA PROGENIUM Alnwick Chapter (soon to be the world)

  7. #6
    Master of the Ravenwing Anacron's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Wakefield, UK
    Age
    34
    Posts
    849
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    39 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Decado
    so what this means is that the guys who have charged the vehicle won't attack cause they can't do anything to it
    Er, no. They will attack, beacuse the rules tell them to, but since you would need to roll more than a 6 to damage it, there's just no point rolling the dice.
    All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.

  8. #7
    Senior Member Librarian Augustine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    On Serenity headed to the Black
    Posts
    830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x2)

    Quote Originally Posted by Decado
    the answer to this is no with one exception,

    your models with a meltagun shoots at a tank dont kill it then assault it even though they can't do anything to it (unless it's the rear armour) but they also have the movement to be able to reach a troop squad of one shape or another.

    so what this means is that the guys who have charged the vehicle won't attack cause they can't do anything to it, but they are still safe from being shot cause they are locked with the infantry unit.

    this is a favorite tactic of mine if my raptors fluff it and don't destroy the tank.
    I think you need to be clearer. If you were to assualt a tank it would simply back up and shoot you. what do you mean by the infantry unit

  9. #8
    Senior Member Agate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Hamilton
    Age
    29
    Posts
    268
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    Reputation
    15 (x1)

    Unless i am interpreting the rules incorectly the tank doesn't even need to back up to shoot you.

  10. #9
    Senior Member Decado's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    CHIPPENHAM
    Age
    40
    Posts
    907
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputationReputation
    66 (x2)

    right

    my raptor unit jumps in shoots 2 meltaguns at a leman russ. but fail to blow it up. in my assault phase 2 of the raptors assault the russ but as they can't do anything to it they effectively dont attack.

    however next to the russ is an infantry unit of guardsmen the other 4 members of my raptor unit assault them. as they have the necessary movement availiable to reach them (assaulting more than one unit)

    now because i am locked in combat with the guardsmen the tank which i failed to blow up cant now shoot at the raptors cause theyre locked in combat. but it can still move backwards away from them but not forwards as it can't drive through combat.

    so in 1 move i have shot a tank, locked a unit in combat, and blocked line of sight to the units behind the original guard unit for their next turn, and prevented a tank from advancing towards my lines.

    (point to note though your troops are size 2 the tank is size 3 so the tank MAY shoot over the combat but in the interest of fairness we normally say only the turret due to line of sight)

    hope this clears it up for you guys.
    WARMASTER of the SCHOLA PROGENIUM Alnwick Chapter (soon to be the world)

  11. #10
    Senior Member Librarian Augustine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    On Serenity headed to the Black
    Posts
    830
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

    ReputationReputation
    30 (x2)

    thank you that was much easier to follow. IT relies on a guard unit right beside the tank and also you need to assualt in a straight line to do that

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts