Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I've read this rule over and over and still don't get the point of it.
I know that when your assualted you move frowards toward the assualties, but whats the
All your units are more likely to be engaged in the combat, vs. the few in base-to-base. In some situations, it'll give you an advantage, and in others it'll screw ya over.
~ Rape the churches and burn the women!
eg you have a chaos space marine squad that are assaulted
but the only model that can be reached by the charging unit is the guy at the end,
so you have only at least 2 models to fight against their whole unit chances are those 2 models are dead,
and you may not be able to fight back due to a higher Initiative of the attackers or you cause no wounds
so you automatically loose the combat.
then you fail your LD test run away and get caught.
with the counter assault ability you would then be able to bring more models into the combat and increase your chances of winning.
this can also bring a independant character who is in the squad into the combat (provided he has counter assault as well) then even if you were assaulted you could be going first.
now does counter assault seem so pointless?
WARMASTER of the SCHOLA PROGENIUM Alnwick Chapter (soon to be the world)
That's an excellent example of where CA would come in handy, but to be fair, If you have no models in base contact, and you fail a Ld, the worst that could happen is you get caught by their consolidation move, and combat continues.
Or you move far enought away, that they can't catch you, then you (mabey) regroup, and you get to unload all sorts of shooty goodness into the unit.
Here's an example of how CA can really screw you over,
Now if you have a unit with counter assult, and get assulted by, oh say a nightbringer.
You must make your CA move, and while this is going to get you more attacks, I kinda dought you'll win combat.
Now you are most likely to still have models in base contact.
Then you fail a Ld.
Now you role poorly to break out of combat.
Now your unit is dead.
Just like every other option that can be given to a unit, it can both help, and hinder your forces.
-the enemy can still overrun you even if they have no models in base contact as long as you fail your D6+I
Procrastination- hard work often pays off over time, but laziness always pays off now.
Indifference- it takes 43 muscles to frown, and 17 to smile, but none to just sit there with a dumb look on your face.
-Votewar 40K III= 1st place
-Votewar 40k mini= 2nd place
-Votewar fantasy 2= 2nd place
They can lock you in another combat, but you need btb to catch them in sweeping advance so this statement (above) is wrong. You can only sweeping advance if you are in btb with that unit, and are not in btb with another unit. Recheck sweeping advance rules.Originally Posted by tiaxrulesall
counter attack can be very useful sometimes.
when combined with true grit: 13th company grey slayers have the same number of attacks on the charge as they do normally. letting your enemy get the charge means they still get all their attacks and will get a round of shooting of.
when there's a nasty IC in your squad: my grey slayer squad had a particularly nasty wolf lord joined, my opponent charges the squad with beserkers and carefully avoids letting the lord get into btb with my models. the lord then piles in and kills 5 off before they can hit the rest of my squad.
when your squad is really spread out: i suppose that it could make all your men bunch up, and if they were spread around then they'll bunch up again and potentially end up closer to the enemy.
when only half your squad is engaged: as said already, it lets most of your squad get into cc and contribute. with the cc weapon armed troopers getting in there too.
however there are always some liabilites.
1.the move could end with your troops being in charge range of something nasty like banshees or bloodletters next turn.
2.it could get more of them into range of something that strikes before you and can kill most of your men off (that couldn't be killed before because they may not have been in 2" of a friendly model)
EDIT:you don't roll for the d6+1 if you've killed every model in btb. you may however still make a 3" consolidation move, so your squad may be able to re-engage the same squad (don't count as charging)Originally Posted by tiaxrulesall
Last edited by TzarNikolai; December 3rd, 2005 at 10:17.