Welcome to Librarium Online!
Join our community of 80,000+ members and take part in the number one resource for Warhammer and Warhammer 40K discussion!
Registering gives you full access to take part in discussions, upload pictures, contact other members and search everything!
I searched for this and found only one thread that addressed it but didnt satisfy the question. I know cover saves are 99.99% only taken from shooting. Dark eldar have wargear that states that they get a cover save, even in CC. So does the Warscythe go through this?
IIRC, mandrakes (don't think it is wargear) do not get their cover save in combat, but do get the usual benefits of being in cover, i.e. striking at I10 etc.
I suspect there is a DE player who can be more precise than I.
Having an army and not owning a rulebook is like owning a car with no steering wheel.Originally Posted by amishcellphone
I'm not a Dark Eldar player, but I can be more precise.
You are referring to the Shadow-skinned Mandrakes, whose cover save does not apply in an assault. It does, however, state that it means they are counted as actually in cover, so they would always be striking at I:10 if charged. It's not very well written, and could be taken to mean they get a cover save in combat at first glance - but that is not what it says. Nobody gets cover saves in combat.
All the old Specialist Games resources are currently being uploaded at the Tactical Command forums, and you can find them here: http://www.sg.tacticalwargames.net/fanatic/.
Ahhh okay. We have a DE player in our group and he was playing my Necron friend last weekend and he asked me a couple tables down about this rule. Admittedly it sounded cheesy but... From now on when im asked I will make them open their codex and well have a literal party. Thanks again guys.
Actaully i believe harlequins get their cover save in CC. But for clarification the warscythe does quite specifically say that its ignores all saves, of any sort. You can take it that means that even if they did have a cover save they would not get it.
Nope, it says exactly the opposite. Consequently, they have no save at all in close-combat. However, they do receive the initiative boost for the first round of combat just like units in normal cover do.Originally Posted by Sabe
Why do the survivors remain anonymous -- as if cursed -- while the dead are revered? Why do we cling to what we lose while we ignore what we still hold?
Name none of the fallen, for they stood in our place, and stand there still in each moment of our lives.
--Duiker, "Deadhouse Gates"